Skip to content

I’d like to thank the academy

February 28, 2012

I thought everyone felt like I felt as I anticipated this year’s Oscars hosted by Billy Crystal. The few people I mentioned it to were of the same mind. We were excited about a return to the “hollywood-ness” of previous years. I always liked Crystal’s opening numbers. The year he was wheeled out as Hannibal Lector was my favorite. I had no doubt Billy would bring it and restore the Oscars to their previous (albeit out of touch and silly) glory. He did not disappoint. When it was all over I was excited, thinking that this was what the Oscars were meant to be. Then I googled.

The Hollywood Reporter called the telecast “the most boring Academy Awards in years”. Variety gave it a scathing review as well. As I continued on down the rabbit hole I asked myself in a panic, how I could have been so wrong. My sister called to talk about how ridiculous and terrible it was. “Really?! You too?!” was all I could say. I ran backwards through the awards in my mind, trying to find what I’d missed. I read online in multiple places that there had been annoying feedback and other sound problems, none of which I noticed. I felt stupid, even more so when I discovered that I couldn’t find anything wrong with it in retrospect. Sure, there are some boring bits and speeches, but that’s what DVR is for.

What was really bothering me was not that I’d missed something but the fact that I automatically assumed I had. Why wasn’t I able to shrug off the opinions of others and be okay with my own enjoyment? It’s not like I’m a shrinking violet. So what gives?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 7:28 pm

    Ha! Happens with me as well and I don’t really care what others think IF I like and enjoy something. Doesn’t necessarily mean I missed to catch the flaws that others didn’t.

    Btw, 2012 Academy Awards will be always be memorable for me. I rooted for Sharmeen Chinoy (documentary short category) and she won. Wow!

  2. February 28, 2012 7:30 pm

    *I missed to catch the flaws that others did*

  3. February 28, 2012 7:33 pm

    Sometimes it bothers us when someone voices a negative opinion against something we really enjoyed. We want people to like what we like.
    I was actually kind of indifferent to the Oscars until Bill Crystal’s blackface segment appeared… then I felt very negative toward the whole thing.

  4. Stephanie (@stephaniem99) permalink
    February 28, 2012 8:02 pm

    It’s easier to pick out the negative than the positive. Those who choose the easy route also have a way of saying things to make the rest of us second guess our own opinions only because they’re not comfortable enough to stand alone. Forget them and way to find enjoyment in things regardless. PS If Part 3 of My Fat Story was posted in the near future, I wouldn’t be angry. Great blog.

  5. February 28, 2012 9:00 pm

    Everyone has a different take on things and sometimes the majority has another view than yourself. I guess it’s only human to question yourself if your point of view on something is polar to the masses. It’s the outsider syndrom again, right? We don’t want to be the odd one, we wanna fit in with the rest of the crowd.

    Rarely, I still fall into the trap sometimes where I question myself first instead of taking my perception of something for face value. And then I remember what I’ve learned: Life has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with the way you see them.

    It’s beautiful, isn’t it? It’s always about the way YOU see it. And if Billy left you with a good feeling, who cares what everyone else thinks. It just doesn’t matter, as long as you had a good time and a smile on your face.

    For the record, I loved it as well. It really felt like the good old times.

  6. February 29, 2012 2:44 am

    Fuck the internet. I thought the Oscars were well done. (I DVR’d them as well, so boring wasn’t a problem). It felt classic, polished and Billy Crystal was the icing on the cake.What else are people expecting? Its not the Grammy’s. It’s about honoring and recognizing great film, which, I feel was done and done well. You’re not lame for going against the common grain. I call it good taste.

  7. Meg permalink
    February 29, 2012 3:27 am

    “Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” – Dr. Seuss
    Never be ashamed of something you love! Don’t doubt yourself. You’re awesome. 🙂

  8. Sarah permalink
    February 29, 2012 12:48 pm

    I’ve done this for years, well ever since I can remember. I can be opinionated and like to express them too and enthusiastically. Once I’ve finished ermming my way through the fact I love this song, that film, disagree with some point of view, I start to worry I might have sounded ill informed, have the wrong end of the stick and I should have thought before opening my mouth or maybe not opened it at all.

    If someone starts disagreeing, I immediately assume I’m the one who’s way off the mark? I have many strong convictions, but unfortunately my lack of confidence does tend to lead people into not really taking my point of view that seriously. Why would they if I don’t seem to? And so the vicious cycle begins.

    Anyway, I had an epiphany over a green macaroon, yes ridiculous! I loved it, my friend picked holes in it (metaphorically and literally) I enthused, she hated it and told me I was easily pleased. Easily pleased or not. Trite conversation or not. The fact I ended up eating 4 macaroons when I really shouldn’t have or not, there it was, ping! Maybe it’s as simple as, unless the subject is related to a deep seated inherited or inherent belief. A subject which can offend people at their very core. Most other subjects are all down to taste and I can sound as bloody stupid as I want and still be right! So now I try not to worry too much and it does work as I haven’t deleted this reply worrying how silly I may sound (although it has crossed my mind.)

    Ok so that’s my lunch hour over. Thank goodness for macaroons. Loving the posts. Hope you get a book sorted!

  9. karen permalink
    March 1, 2012 5:38 pm

    I felt it was very safe. You never want mean but my favourite moments were those that had “character” Emma Stone, Robert Downey Jr etc. If I were you, I would be happy that I enjoyed it so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

