Skip to content

Long beautiful ha-ir

May 24, 2012

I’ve cut my hair. As in, weed whacked it into something resembling submission. Actually, my friend Nikki Providence whacked it. She’s awesome. She’s also the one who took me to my favorite red EVER! But enough about Nikki. This is about my hair.

I’ve been wanting to cut my hair for a while. I’m that girl who, as soon as I settle into a hairstyle, needs to drastically change it. Hence, the recent chop. Since the change I’ve been paying more attention to hair styles and what’s around me and I’ve noticed what might be called a pattern or “Stepford syndrome”. Quite literally and without exaggeration every single woman in the coffee shop this morning had the exact. same. hair. Long and artfully tousled, Long in a messy braid, or long and in a top knot. Don’t get me wrong, I love long hair and had it myself for years but this is ridiculous. Is it because it’s flattering on everyone or is there some sinister, cultural brainwashing that will end with their hair becoming entangled in each other’s and being unable to move for fear of rippage, thereby stopping any possible revolt? Enlighten me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    May 24, 2012 7:50 pm

    Right now I’m on pre-natal vitamins and my hair is extremely long. I don’t usually let it get this long, but I’m kind of in a bet with myself to see how long I can actually stand it, before I have to cut it. Unfortunately, the odds are no longer in my favor, due to hot weather. So I see it lasting maybe another month.

  2. May 24, 2012 7:56 pm

    I feel you. I have long, un-beautiful hair, and I’ve been trying to think of a short hair cut I can have to get rid of it

  3. jenhannahmurphy permalink
    May 24, 2012 10:43 pm

    I am rather jealous! I am the victim of thick, curly, and the worst of the the three– WAVY hair. By wavy I mean deep, large, thick finger waves. Something akin to a 1920’s flapper. So enjoy the freedom! I am sure it is beautiful on you!

Leave a Reply

