Skip to content

Ray Bradbury is dead

June 6, 2012

Ariel gave me Fahrenheit 451 for Christmas. I have read and reread it. I loved it a little bit more every time. I was gutted to discover that the last time I rented it out, it never returned. I keep telling myself that whoever has it needs it more than I do. I don’t really believe that but it stops me from sitting in a ball on the floor crying and rocking back and forth.

I saw a play of his at the pasadena playhouse with a friend about 5 years back. Of course I’d forgotten my copy. Mr. Bradbury was in attendance and of course signing books. I refused to buy a new copy that meant nothing to me just to have him sign it. (See this post.) I regret that. He answered unending questions from his wheelchair with a smile, never tiring. It was great to experience that even if I don’t have proof.

R.I.P.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 8:50 pm

    i’ve had the french version for years. my grandpap gave it to me for my bday when i was a confused teenager who didn’t give a flying saucer about the world. thankfully, i grew up! i’ve read it many times when i was in college and it served its purpose quite well then. I am going to re-read it again sometime this week in honor of Bradbury and of course my grandpap.

Leave a Reply

