Skip to content

June 9, 2012

I’ve got 2 new tattoos, one is my first color and both are the firsts on my hands. The one on the left is a red “451” and I think it’s beautiful. On the right is a black “1984” and I’m in love with that one just as much. The inspiration for the 451 came with the news that Ray Bradbury had died. I wasn’t beside myself so much, he was older, I wanted a tribute.

Because Fahrenheit 451 and 1984 have always been linked in my mind for unknown reasons, it felt wrong to have one without the other. I marched myself back on down to American Electric Tattoo and had Tyler Borich remedy the situation. I promised him today that next time I wouldn’t get such boring and uncreative tattoos. I’m not sure he believed me.

A welcome surprise that I discovered this morning is being able to see the tattoo as I type. (I hadn’t yet completed the pair.) I can’t think of anything more inspiring than to see these as I start every day.

Another welcome surprise is that these, more than any of the others, have started a dialogue both with people around me and internally. Neither of them have tattoos but it wasn’t about that. It was about examining our views of self and beauty. For me tattoos are many things. They are adornment, markers of specific times and places, one is a post it. Bigger than that they serve as a reminder that while all things are precious, nothing is precious. I believe the body, like all things, should be enjoyed and used. I don’t want to go to my grave pristine. I want to go with the marks and scars and art that represent my life.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. iampisspot permalink
    June 9, 2012 3:15 pm

    “I want to go with the marks and scars and art that represent my life”.

    Just beautiful.

  2. Joss permalink
    June 9, 2012 3:18 pm

    Congratulations on your new tattoos. They look cool.

    “451” and “1984” are both timely for this age. Whether we recognize it or not, we are living in age of wide spread, destructive propaganda, political manipulation, censorship and monitoring (Patriot Act, NDAA, SOPA, ACTA, etc.).

  3. June 9, 2012 3:29 pm

    “I believe the body, like all things, should be enjoyed and used. I don’t want to go to my grave pristine. I want to go with the marks and scars and art that represent my life.”

    Beautifully said and on that note, congratulations on your new tattoos!

  4. Elena permalink
    June 9, 2012 3:48 pm

    You are so right. Tattoos have a meaning. They remind you of where you were when you had them done and what brought the about. I have a couple and I’ m very proud of them. They are a symbol of the person I have become and how I got to be like this.
    Congrats

  5. Karine permalink
    June 12, 2012 2:50 pm

    Bonjour Clémentine, I thought I would let people know what is happening in Montreal these times.. and btw sorry for my bad english as I speak french :). But I love 1984 and as you do too. Very nice tattoo indeed ! ( I tried to use google translator .. hope it will be ok ). Our government , and prime minister in Quebec is just close to totalitarism… This lady s been arrested because she read 1984 in the metro… can u believe… really sad, and hope things will change soon. Dont know if you’ve been in Montreal before, but it is just so unbelievable to see things like that here. Students and people, occupy montreal, will keep fighting. hope all this will soon change. well, thanks for sharing ur articles with us, and hope the translator will work :/

    this is Mélanie Veilleux, in Montreal :
    “”My day in prison for 1984 read in the subwayIn this Sunday, June 10, 2012, I tried to participate in an act of protest, I move for a few hours at the Berri metro Jean-Drapeau to peacefully demonstrate my disapproval of the Formula 1 Grand Prix, an event that advocating what I consider to be gender ideologies.Dressed in a flowered dress and a bag full of dangerous objects such as an apple, a bottle of water and three books, I wanted to point the finger at the high police presence and attitude verging on Terrorism SPVM since the conflict began in government calmly reading George Orwell’s 1984, a futuristic novel with a company dealing with a totalitarian police state.After I made a search by police upon arrival at Berri-UQAM, I sat in a car in the direction of Jean-Drapeau station, my book in hand. When I returned to the city center, I read a policeman and a woman read me, over my shoulder. We were photographed and the policeman, seeing that we were two dangerous characters, called his team as reinforcements to welcome us in good standing at Berri. With the other passengers of the car, we were placed face against the wall and then we were led outside by the fire exits, where we were told not to return under penalty of arrest. No response when I asked what was wrong with reading on the subway.I committed an irreparable act of civil disobedience on the way down into the station and returning to read in a wagon. When the police saw me eating my apple, they shouted at me they recognized my tattoos and stopped me. I asked what I had done wrong, other than reading peacefully, and I had to answer I had disobeyed their orders. I rested my question, what’s wrong with being on the subway reading, and I have not had a reply. I was put under arrest and two officers made a friendly high five to congratulate them on their good work. It took me like a criminal detention center SPVM in downtown Montreal, where I was taking photographs from every angle. After saving all my personal belongings, the police took me to the cell 52 where three other women were present. I spent the day behind bars around the toilet dirty, lying on a bench, not knowing when I would be released, having read in a subway car and to have recurred in this revolutionary act. Around 15:30, I was released with a ticket saying that this circus was held for loitering.Police state? I am ashamed of my Quebec. ”

    Have a nice day. and congrats for your tattoos, its great !
    karine

  6. December 13, 2012 10:56 am

    your tattoos are great your arguments are very good. I’m thinking about getting the first …

  7. Toya permalink
    June 29, 2013 8:06 am

    after seeing your ‘1984’ tattoo i considered it too, being that its my birth year. it may just be my next tattoo

Leave a Reply

