Skip to content

I licked the bowl.

June 18, 2012

Yup yup, I’m blogging about my food. Not something I usually do as I’m pretty culinarily boring. Today’s no exception but it hit the spot so much that I have to tell you all about it. I boiled a couple of bright red potatoes to eat plain with salt. While they were cooking I got a hankering for something green. I contemplated the chard and poked at the broccoli. I figured I could stick the potatoes in the fridge for later (cold boiled potatoes with salt? Yes please!) and throw together a clementine special*. Then it hit me! Hot potato salad!

Once the potatoes were cooked to tender but not falling apart I pulled one out and chopped/smashed it in a bowl. Then I put in 1 tablespoon of olive oil, a few grinds of salt and pepper and, for the piece de resistance, two ladles full of freshly steamed, but still crunchy, broccoli.Oh holy night, this was delicious. I have a suspicion that it will be heavenly with a touch of vinegar and an overnight chill in the fridge.

What are some of y’all’s favorite simple thrown together meals?

*The Clementine Special: Steamed chard, quinoa and boiled pinto beans drizzled (heavily) with ume vinegar and soy sauce

8 Comments leave one →
  1. kristin permalink
    June 18, 2012 7:32 pm

    black beans (con garlic, un poco vinegar and some green olives) + rice = success

  2. Clementine permalink*
    June 18, 2012 7:35 pm

    I’m so trying that!

  3. Jeanne permalink
    June 18, 2012 8:01 pm

    Takeout! 😉

  4. June 19, 2012 7:28 pm

    nothing wrong with blogging about food!

    • Clementine permalink*
      June 19, 2012 11:31 pm

      Well not for YOU. 🙂

  5. Tori permalink
    June 20, 2012 9:02 pm

    Black beans seasoned with onion powder, garlic, cumin, and chili powder with rice and salsa shoved in a warm tortilla. Your dish sounds yummy! I’ll have to get my hands on some ume vinegar.

  6. Stephanie (@stephaniem99) permalink
    August 1, 2012 2:38 am

    Cup of quinoa mixed with black beans, chili peppers, cilantro, diced tomatoes, dash of salt and pepper and tiny splash of olive oil. Awesome warm or leftover and cold. If you really want to get fancy, stuff the mixture in green peppers baked in homemade enchilada sauce. Can’t go wrong!

  7. tlnemethy permalink
    October 13, 2012 12:17 pm

    When I have the hankering for something different I cut up pita bread into little triangles and toast it under the broiler until it gets crispy. Then I add a sprinkle of garlic powder, a touch of cheese and broil it again til the cheese just melts a tad. Finish it off with some homemade cilantro salsa and it adds a refreshing, yet quick appy.

Leave a Reply

