Skip to content

Deadline equals…blog?

June 25, 2012

The title says it all. I have a deadline. It’s tomorrow. I am blogging. It’s really not all that bad as it works to get out the stuff cluttering my head and getting in the way of working. Right? RIGHT?!

Sometimes I’m torn about blogging. I want to get personal. I want to share my “stuff” because I think we all want to feel a little less alone, a little less weird and reading about someone else’s “stuff” can help make that happen. On the other hand I think, sometimes, when it comes to certain actors and writers, I don’t actually want to know too much as it can ruin the suspension of disbelief. It’s a conundrum. I guess if you’re reading this it’s not a conundrum for you. And the things I’m drawn to write about are personal, so when I do publish my book that’s what it’ll be. Bah. Navel gazing, right?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2012 7:44 pm

    When I blog it’s usually personal, because that’s what I know best. I don’t write about things I haven’t experienced because… well that’s all posturing–I know nothing about it. I find it’s a good way to get all the shit out of your brain. And, blogging… It’s weird, but no matter how personal it gets, we *want* someone to read it. To start a disagreement, or tell us we’re completely normal and not alone in our beliefs or quirky habits. I’m no celebrity, so I have no qualms about just writing, but I can imagine the daunt of celebrity is a hindrance when it comes to writing something like a blog post. But when it comes down to it… we’re all just people. Or maybe I’m alone in thinking that. I appreciate people for their thoughts and whether or not they can get me thinking about something, I couldn’t care less about how famous they are.

  2. June 27, 2012 2:34 am

    I got really horrible client feedback last week. Horrible because of the client (he never understands ANYTHING so ALL his feedback is horrible). It bothered me so much that even drinking with my roommate didn’t stop the voices in my head.

    I stayed up until 3 that night “blogging it out” and ended up with one of my strongest blogs yet–and it was all about writing and the process and function and structure of writing. I didn’t think anyone would like it at all, but a lot of people did.

    And the next day I strolled into work and nailed the project AGAIN, somehow satisfying him (his “compliment” was “now THIS is an editorial,” which I didn’t find to be very complimentary) without compromising the integrity of the writing.

    So, blog away, my friend, and make it as personal as you feel. I’ve been throwing in some poems lately–which I’m not confident in and wouldn’t normally do–just to throw it out there.

  3. July 9, 2012 3:02 pm

    Hmm. Good question. Can I riff..?

    There’s a balance. A balance between personal and intimate, personal and vulnerable, personal and accessible, personal and private and personal and universal. Hard to believe, I know, but there is. You’ll find it in your writing, you’ll find it in the way you respond, react, and act when words flow through you. And you only get to it through practice.

    We think personal is a tell-all reveal all, everythign out so that all that’s left is nothing — you’ve given your marrow and spread it on the page and while it might feel like that, it’s simply not possible. We are so much more than what we think we are. We barely understand our self, (many aspects of self) so how is it possible to tell all so that people can know us? Or at least, what we want people to know about us, or are willing to share?

    Maybe we hope that in sharing stories, some of our authentic self (whatever that is) shines through. And yet, in blogging and publishing for any and all to read, the sharing is simply teeny tiny packets of parts and things of you, not the entire stream of you, all the millions of little things that make up you in this moment.

    Imagine sitting under the stars and asking that question of your best friend. How much of me to share? How much of me to keep private? Or imagine asking 10 random people on the street what they think they want to know about you, and whether they think that’s personal and then decide. Research on the go.

    If I may: it’s a fair question to ponder, but it is also a distinct (North) American (cultural) overly self-conscious concern. I can’t pretend to know what it means for public figures to ponder such a thing. But public figures are people too and everyone deserves privacy — do you know how much you need?

    All you can ever do is tell what has happened (past) or what is happening (present) while knowing — knowing in your gut that your perspective on each of those two time frames will change as you do, which means so too will your narrative around the past and present change. As for the future, well, that’s in imagination so your personal future is anything you wish it to be and you can write about it then do a compare and contrast. (A good blogging prompt).

    Writing is writing whether that’s on a blogging platform, (publicly accessible) or typing away on that cute little Olympia portable typewriter that will become popular again after the film Ruby Sparks is released or whether your writing is done by hand in a book full of handmade blank pages. How you use your writing and how personal, intimate, revealing you get is up to you … which is not to say it’s easy. It isn’t. Writing is hard work in any media, on any platform, but: I can speak for a few Canadians when I say… looking forward to seeing what you do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

