Skip to content

December 18, 2012

We’re buying a house. I don’t know what I expected, in my experience you go out looking until you find exactly what you want, then you make an offer somewhere below asking and it’s yours, this is not that. This is nail biting and inspectors and appraisals and cash offers and best feet forward. It’s crazy making and ulcer growing. It’s often the lesser of two evils; Is parking worth a hole in the ceiling? Maybe? Is central air and heat worth our first born? Suuuure! It’s fucking nuts. One of the houses we put an offer on went 100,000 over asking. In case you’re confused that is 100,000 DOLLARS over asking.

I see people on reality shows (Love It or List It, I’m looking at you) who are worried about going $4,000 over their budget of $245,000 on a 6 bedroom house on acres and acres of land. I don’t care if it’s in Charlotte, I’m jealous. I tried to persuade Cyrus to look out of state, even though that’s not really an option for us, but he said no anyway so it’s a moot point.

Also making it a moot point is that we found The One. I won’t go into details because I’m superstitious and scared of stalkers but let me tell you, it’s perfect. For us. I want it so bad I can’t breathe. It is my house. I’ve never felt like this and I’ve never been good at playing it cool so I blurted it right out, “I have to have this house!!”. Negotiation be damned! The agent laughed at me but when I said I’d be willing to tattoo an offer on my arm I think he got a little nervous. That was when our agent steered me carefully out the door. She’s a smart woman…

So now, we wait. And wait. And then if our offer is accepted we wait some more. We go into escrow and kick all the tires. At this point, as long as none of them falls of, I’m in no matter what!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    December 17, 2012 6:05 pm

    Ha! I remember this dance from 10 years ago when I was 25 and stupid! FYI parking is SO worth a hole in the ceiling, cause that can eventually be fixed. Creating parking out if nothing tends to piss off the neighbors. Good luck!

  2. December 17, 2012 11:36 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS AND GOOD LUCK!!!!

  3. Gesa34 permalink
    August 13, 2013 11:59 am

    Did you two get it?

Leave a Reply

