Skip to content

Heartbeats

December 18, 2012

This morning, under the sounds of early morning traffic, I listen to my heartbeat. Under my right hand I can feel the tiny tap tap of my dog’s heartbeat. I think of my father who would lie in bed and count the ticks of his mechanical heart valve for months after the surgery. He said he wanted to make sure he’d know if it stopped ticking. I told him he would definitely know, whether he listened or not.

I think of my sister, who has a donor heart. I think of her years before, a toddler, in a little bed, hooked up to beeping machines after an angioplasty. I think of my Grandad who had the same surgery that left my dad tick tocking but is quiet and was up and about 6 weeks later. And my Grandma. Doctors only found out that she needed a bypass when they were preparing her for breast cancer surgery.

My heart is fine. It’s healthy and, with the exception of the taking off and landing of an airplane, stays pretty steady. I can run and climb stairs. I’m not scared, but thrilled when it pounds against my ribs after a hard work out. I’m so so grateful. More than I could ever express.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mdschweizer permalink
    December 18, 2012 12:26 pm

    “The heart (queen of every human being) gives all that man sees and hears and knows the color.” Johann Heinrich Pestalozzi

    Grüße aus München,
    Elisabeth

  2. December 19, 2012 1:12 am

    El corazón humano es un instrumento de muchas cuerdas; el perfecto conocedor de los hombres las sabe hacer vibrar a todas, como un buen músico. Charles Dickens

    “The human heart is an instrument of many strings, the perfect knowledge of the men known to vibrate at all, as a good musician”. Charles Dickens

    Grüße aus Mexiko

    Lilli

Leave a Reply

