Skip to content

Blow Wind Blow

December 19, 2012

Last night the winds were doing their best to knock down houses and trees. They knocked out power in a lot of the city and dumped so many seeds of various textures on my street that it was like walking on roller skates with thousands of tiny wheels.

I’ve never been a big fan of the wind, even before I heard about the legends. They say it makes people crazy, that strange things happen and if you’ve experienced these particular winds you know there’s some truth in that. When the wind blows I feel like one of those seeds being tossed about. My mind and my thoughts have no desire to center. I  develop a nasty case of A.D.D. At 33 and after 28 years in this city I’m only just beginning to understand it.

Yesterday I did this class on Yogaglo. It’s the first in a series of classes taught by Tara Judelle called “Toes to Top” and it’s all about the feet. It’s short- 60 minutes- but wonderful. To put focus solely on that one area, especially the area that so often is our only physical connection to the Earth, drowns out a lot of the noise dancing around in my head. It reminds me that the Earth is here to support me at all times; that even though things are chaotic I have a solid, physical connection to return to. Sometimes a focus on the physical body is just what the mind needs to take a much needed break, to be allowed to flow and be quiet.

But that’s just me. What do you do to ground yourself when life is blowing around so hard you can’t seem to grab hold of anything?

This song comes from a different perspective. What if the wind was cleansing? If it creates havoc and destruction to make room for the new?

Just a thought.

photo is from wikipedia

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    December 19, 2012 8:04 am

    Music is always my grounding force, as well as my family. Music, however, is always with me, even when I’m alone.

  2. disappointinglesbians permalink
    December 28, 2012 12:39 am

    Just discovered your blog through Twitter and I have to say, I love your style of writing. It got me thinking, and I’d have to say my grounding forces are my fiancee and yoga. Something about yoga in the early morning can make the most hectic of weeks seem to crawl to a much needed standstill. I never would have thought of it that way, though.

    And I think there’s definitely something to the idea of wind as a cleansing agent. It always feels unsettling while it’s moving through, but it’s hard to have any real change without it.

Leave a Reply

