Skip to content

The Best Worst Thing Ever

January 6, 2013

Last night I turned the last page of The Rules of Inheritance by Claire Bidwell Smith. It was late, or early depending. My eyes burned but I couldn’t stop, even when it was over. I read the acknowledgements carefully just to hold onto her voice and characters.

It’s the story of her experience walking into adulthood with sick and dying parents. About what it means to be a daughter, a caretaker, a woman. About moving through grief.

My life is different than it was when I first opened the book. It’s better. What more can you ask for?

This is art.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 50fembots permalink
    January 6, 2013 12:30 pm

    I miss that feeling. Oh to be young again!?

Leave a Reply

