Skip to content

this post brought to you by momofuku milk bar’s cake truffles

February 3, 2013

I have discovered that I use my perfectionist control freak tendency as an excuse to write out a whole complicated blog post and then delete it. I get that blogging is now a career path and, sometimes, should be treated with such reverence, but isn’t it also meant to be fun? Isn’t it a way to interact with like minded folks? To indulge our most voyeuristic tendencies? My favorite blogs are personal. I love them for the same reason I love Facebook. I can’t get enough of seemingly mundane moments in life that are really monumental. That time your kid chased a butterfly in the park? Can’t wait to read about it. Got a picture? Even better. Don’t know you? Doesn’t matter. 

I like personalities. I like flaws and flubs and laughter and tears. Also I like the word “and”. I like the way it rolls and continues thoughts even when other words have failed. I like when things aren’t perfect. I like that this is my blog and I can post whatever I want and delete it later. I like that I can admit to the internet that I’ve had 4 cake truffles and it might have been the worst decision of my life because I feel like I’m on speed and I can’t make it stop. Sugar is the devil, but damn if she ain’t delicious.

 

bdaytruffles

The Devil herself.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 50fembots permalink
    February 3, 2013 1:30 pm

    See, that right there is why I follow you and always will. Refreshing.

  2. Ge cko permalink
    February 3, 2013 3:22 pm

    It’s so funny. I’m even a perfectionist and that’s the reason why I’m learning english once again. After I have seen “the L word”, I had a dream, that I met you. But my problem in dream? I was scared to talk to you. So I thought, the chance that I meet you in my live is a very little chance! But if my dream become true, how stupid it would be, if I didn’t speak with you because of my stupid perfectionism?! Since January 2013 I’m learning english and today I found you in twitter and you post this blog! That’s crazy! So it’s more than a post! It’s therapy ;0)

  3. February 3, 2013 5:27 pm

    Ha ha ha! Hugs to you, darling girl, and press on! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

