Skip to content

Hi, my name is Clementine and I own a house

February 27, 2013

As of yesterday I’m a homeowner. I alternate between elation and panic, never settling on one long enough to do anything about it. Last night I stood in what will be my office. It has massive windows and looks out at Stanley the tree. Why Stanley? Why name a tree at all? I have no idea. Why not?

It’s my favorite room in the tiny house and I can’t wait to outfit it with my desk and pens and books and rugs and art and and and. I realize this isn’t odd for most, but it’s a whole new world for me. I love to look at design blogs and magazines, I dig other people’s houses, but I’ve never felt connected enough to a place to  make the effort. In a way it’s scary. I’m afraid of making the wrong choice. I’m afraid of it never being done. I’m afraid of living on laminate floors forever. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that if it’s your thing, I just prefer the permanent solidity of hardwood.) I think the best thing to do is move slowly and choose items mindfully. There’s just one problem with that- I’m getting married in a month and don’t even have so much as a dress. Maybe I’ll be slow and mindful in May….

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2013 2:21 pm

    Wow! Congratulations, homeowner! Blow a kiss to Stanley the Tree for me. Try not to worry about the house or the wedding. You have the big picture right; the rest is just picayune details.

  2. Mae permalink
    February 27, 2013 10:12 pm

    Congratulations on your new place! I’d just take things one day at a time, so as to not worry too much about decorating or about the upcoming wedding. Things have a way of happening in due course. Again, congratulations!

  3. Guls permalink
    February 28, 2013 6:53 am

    How about a Turkish rug for your study? That sounds perfect for your home.

    • Clementine permalink*
      March 5, 2013 12:16 pm

      That does sound perfect!

  4. Laura permalink
    March 6, 2013 11:56 am

    My partner and I have a tree named Charlie!

  5. maloneystg permalink
    March 26, 2013 12:28 pm

    I bought a house with my twin sister 2 years ago, and it’s still one of the most terrifying/rewarding/ amazing things I’ve ever accomplished. If I can pass along one piece of sage advice to a new homeowner it would be: your house will never be done, and that’s ok! There is no wrong choice. You just make it work. For example, my sister wanted to paint one wall in our living room a dark rust color to accent yellow walls. Rust turned out to be outrageous orange. Disastrous? For a minute….yes. However, I happened to have a bunch of comic book stuff (like a chic nerd I am), and what could have been a design catastrophe turned in to our very hip comic book themed living room. We even commissioned an artist friend of ours to draw our superhero alter egos. Making it work! Good luck on this next chapter. You’re going to love it!

Leave a Reply

