Skip to content

So that happened

February 28, 2013
tags: ,

My sister and I went dress shopping yesterday.

I put a beautiful but not quite right Marchesa on hold just in case.

I found 2 dresses at Barneys that were right.

Then the lovely sales woman apologized profusely when they didn’t have my size. In anything. Forget just the dresses I jumped at. Nothing.

I’m a 6-8.

I went ahead and pouted my way through 2 juices from Pressed.

It didn’t help.

Maybe I should just wear a caftan.

*that picture has nothing to do with the post, but who doesn’t love a little Gilligan?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2013 3:11 pm

    I’m a 6/8 too, and it’s astounding how often there is nothing in those sizes when I shop for things. Not to mention the fact that no places size the same way so nothing ever fits anyway. Honestly I just hate clothes shopping.

    • Clementine permalink*
      March 5, 2013 12:16 pm

      Me too. I’d rather consistently see a bigger number than have to try on everything from a 4 to a 12!

  2. February 28, 2013 4:21 pm

    Why is there nothing in those sizes? Are they popular and thus get cleaned out first, or is the available range larger or smaller than that?

    • Clementine permalink*
      March 5, 2013 12:15 pm

      I don’t know… 😦

  3. March 8, 2013 10:30 pm

    That is insanity! Who makes those decisions anyway? Isn’t the whole point to sell dresses? To real people? Who have bodies to clothe for such occasions? Bodies that come in sizes? And yet they must sell dresses because they are all still in business. The mind boggles.

    Marriage equality passed here & we suddenly found ourselves after ten years thinking about things we had never allowed ourselves to even imagine before. Do I want to be married? Yes. Do I have any idea whatsoever about any of this wedding type stuff? Um, no! Do I want to? What’s my dress size? Do people just *know* these things & I am just missing some sort of bride gene? did i just say that? Gag. My head hurts & we are at least a few more years away from being able to afford any sort of wedding right now anyway. (Nice timing, universe!) So, courthouse & send out postcards to everyone after the fact? I hate being the center of attention anyway.

    My mom would get over it eventually, right? And her mom? Maybe not so much? And visibility is important. This is overwhelming, I must go back to bed now & pull the covers over my head. Lather, rinse, repeat.

    (Also, hello. I recently stumbled across your blog. It’s lovely & Gilligan is adorable!)

  4. Kate permalink
    March 17, 2013 10:54 pm

    In my country there are over 10 million citizens, but I have the feeling that every single one of them has the same size shoes as me. And don’t even get me started about clothes!! Size 6 and over seem to have been burned to ashes at our borders, never hitting the shelves.
    For the third winter running I’ve tried to buy some new boots. This year I’ve got as far as having a nicely fitting boot on my right foot, but after a half hour of searching, hey what’s half an hour compared to three years, and I always love waiting (particularly during office hours), a profusely apologetic shop assistant gave up on finding the left boot. On the fourteenth day of spring… I bought a new electric guitar. I only need the one, and it suits me perfectly. 🙂
    P:S: In the photo, when the Gilligan turns round it resembles a small bat. Hands up all those that like batman. :))) Sorry for my lack of sleep.
    Have a nice… yesterday. 😉

Leave a Reply

