Skip to content

Breaking out of my comfort zone… kind of

June 19, 2013
Image

Comfort Zone #1

Up until this point in my life I always believed that I was a strong, brave woman. That I was an open book ready to give and share at will. It’s not true. I’m a big old neurotic chicken.

There are so many times when fear stops me. Fear that someone won’t like me or what I have to say. Fear that I’m not as smart as I wish I was. Fear that I’m just not cool enough. My  natural reaction is to retreat.

There are people I’ve “known” for a long time. Acquaintances whose families I know only by facebook photos who I would like to know better. I would like to maybe see them here or there on purpose instead of by accident, in passing, or on the internet. It’s a thought I have often, but for no good reason I never act on it. Well, I’m about to be 34 years old and it’s high time I stopped being such a baby.

Image

Comfort Zone #1

This month is all about acting on that. Wish me luck.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    June 19, 2013 8:20 am

    I lived abroad in college, not even some place scary, Australia. Well scary in the sense that I was leaving everything I knew for something totally unknown, alone, but not scary as in it was an English speaking country. Anyway, I found that because I only had 6 months to see and do as much as I could, that that’s exactly what I did. I traveled to places with 20$ in my pocket, got as humanly possible to poisonous snakes, swam in oceans without fear, ate things I wouldnt normally eat. My point being, is that I can relate. When I came back to the US I slowly lost that lust for life and I need to remember that I could get hit by a bus at any moment. And my point further being that our comfort zones are always there. i too am going to try and make an effort to spread my wings. Thanks for the relatable moment and hopefully lesson in life!

  2. kim patterson permalink
    June 19, 2013 9:14 am

    You are still a strong young woman. I still want you to be a firefighter in my TV show. I haven’t seen you in anything since The L Word! Stretch your wings girl! You can definitely fly!

  3. Sonya permalink
    June 19, 2013 12:53 pm

    Same. Good luck babygirl;)

  4. June 19, 2013 6:08 pm

    First, good luck!

    Second, I’ve found a positive way to get out of my comfort zone. Say I was a writer stuck in a rut. I’d “create” a day where I’d challenge myself by doing something in a medium that was totally new to me. Paint, clay, poetry or whatever. I find that venturing into a new medium often renews my appreciation for my “real” craft.

  5. June 19, 2013 6:52 pm

    Good luck! Just ask yourself, what’s the worst that can happen? It’s usually not that bad and it usually doesn’t happen.

  6. Erin permalink
    June 20, 2013 9:26 am

    Good luck girl!! You got this. You are amazing and can do ANYTHING you set your mind to

  7. Toya permalink
    June 28, 2013 6:27 am

    You have so much going for you… don’t worry yourself with insecurities. if people don’t like what you have to say, they don’t have to listen. You are smarter then a lot of people, so don’t worry you’re not smart enough. you are most certainly cool enough…

    • Clementine permalink*
      June 28, 2013 9:18 am

      This is really nice. 🙂

  8. July 4, 2013 12:35 am

    Again: Same “problem” here. I don’t have any fear to do things. I would longboard down the most winding mountain road, jump out of a plane (with parachute)…, but when it’s about people (and feelings) I always turn into a timid mouse. Same fears like you and some others.

    Anyway, you shouldn’t be afraid. You’re really smart, cool… enough. How is it going now? You’re almost in the middle of the month.

    (And now a fear overwhelms me: the “Post Comment” button fear, because I don’t want to disturb, irritate, stalk… you for the third time in one day, in one hour actually.)

  9. kady webb permalink
    July 16, 2013 8:28 pm

    I use to be one of the most fearful people. I was homeschooled until the age of 13 in a somewhat remote town and was extremely shy until a few years after high school.

    It took a lot of work to push though feelings of
    fear and insecurities to find myself and make loads of amazing crazy awesome friends.

    Im 26 now and love living a full life with tons of adventure.

    You can do anything. Especially someone that seems as talented as you!

    Conquer Fear!!

Leave a Reply

