Skip to content

You might think it’s funny, but it’s snot

November 10, 2013

That title was the end of one of my favorite rhymes as a kid. Can’t remember the rest but it’s not important.

My last five days have consisted of coughing, blowing my nose, rubbing Egyptian magic on said nose, switching sides of the couch based on which nostril is functioning, and eating based on texture because apparently I can taste nothing but cheez-its.

I don’t get sick so I’m being a big baby about the whole thing and have no idea what to do with myself. Even my ribs hurt, I suspect from sneezing, but maybe from too much lying down.

Tell me your favorite cold remedies. (Over the counter options are out.) Or just tell me something fun. 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Penny permalink
    November 10, 2013 6:09 pm

    You need some laughs, check out my friend Carla Collins…the videos should make you feel better…and what she does with nyquil is unbelievable! http://www.carlacollins.com/

  2. November 10, 2013 6:13 pm

    If you have a wood fireplace, put eucalyptus leaves in the fire. We do that here in Oz during the cold season. Eucalyptus tea is also good.

    • November 10, 2013 6:38 pm

      So, I just realised that of course, you probably can’t find that easily where you are. Something that sometimes works for me: During a hot shower, blow your nose for ages. A gross place to do it, I know. It works sometimes. I hope you feel better soon.

  3. Liberalwriter permalink
    November 10, 2013 6:35 pm

    Just coming off a cold myself. Hot herbal tea always helps and peppermint tea tends to ease the end of a cold headaches and sinus pain. Grape is the only flavor I can taste during a cold so grape popsicles are good for sore throats. But the best remedy is always things from your childhood. The Brave Little Toaster is my favorite medicine 🙂

  4. Erin permalink
    November 10, 2013 9:10 pm

    I hesitate letting this family secret out but if you have a sore throat ….crush up one aspirin, add a little white vinegar and a couple drops of mercurochrome, heat it just a smidge so it’s warm…. Gargle that shit, you’ll be right as rain!

Leave a Reply

