Skip to content

Teach me how to eat…

November 18, 2013
tags:

Okay, obviously I know how to eat. The problem is that I don’t know how to eat at home. Not really anyway. I have a few things that I make over and over again and will eat every night for a week, but no one else really wants to do that. Being that i’d like to cook for friends and oh, you know, maybe my child, I’m asking for help.

Imagine pictures here of my specialties. I tried to find some, but apparently have deleted every single one. Why I trashed a picture of the worst bread ever made I’ll never know. And then there was the “Tomato Bread Soup” that turned out to be “Marinara with soggy bread lumps”.

On the plus side, I make a mean soup and can roast vegetables like you wouldn’t believe.

So, how do you plan your meals so that you don’t end up either eating the same meal for a week or having everything go bad before you’ve eaten it? Also, how often do you grocery shop? I’ve never managed to shop more than two days ahead.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2013 6:22 pm

    I am TERRIBLE at meal planning, it is the absolute bane of my life. I love food, but I go through patches where I am just so uninspired I couldn’t decide what to eat if my life depended on it. Thankfully I don’t have kids, so there’s just me to grumble about my rubbish attitude. I shop every few days as I like fresh produce & I waste far too much if I do it weekly or fortnightly.

    • Clementine permalink*
      November 18, 2013 8:34 pm

      I’m so glad it’s not just me! Sometimes I feel like I’m blowing it at being a grownup!

  2. November 18, 2013 7:34 pm

    I usually do a big grocery run once a week for all the staples, from TP to potatoes to cereal. But I end up at the grocery store almost every other day buying just a couple of things I need for dinner that night–two pieces of fish, a couple of leeks, some lovely herbj. I tell myself it’s the European part of me coming out. As for breaking out of the routine, identify when you have the most time on your hands and promise to try ONE new recipe. For me, it’s the weekends, and I’ll try it out on my hubby or close friends who won’t kill me if it bombs.

    • Clementine permalink*
      November 18, 2013 8:34 pm

      Juli! I should have just emailed you and asked, of course you have the answer! 🙂 xoxo

  3. Miranda K. Wood permalink
    November 18, 2013 10:06 pm

    I don’t buy groceries for more than 2 days ahead. Who the heck knows what I’ll be in the mood for on Friday?? Gahhh.

Leave a Reply

