Skip to content

Reorienting

December 2, 2013

This morning feels a bit like coming out of the theater after a midday movie, squinty and disoriented, but also relieved. (Am I the only one who hates going to see movies during daylight hours?)

The holiday weekend was long and emotional, more so than I’ve experienced before. We also had Pip, my sister’s most amazing mini-dachshund, who, despite being perfect, is a handful. He went home last night and though we missed him I think we all had the first good night’s sleep we’ve had in a week.

As I look around my house I feel the daze fading off in pieces. I see not just the disorder and mess that mirrors what’s been going on in my head, but how to fix it. I have the sense that I made it through and can put the pieces back together again. (And again and again and again when I have to.) Just that is enough to remind me that the most difficult times can also be the greatest gifts.

Hope everyone had a nice weekend.

And, in case that was too heavy, here are some pictures of Gilligan and Pip.

IMG_0799

IMG_0798

IMG_0792

IMG_0764

 

 

Leave a Reply

