Skip to content

Tis the season (for craft fairs)

December 11, 2013

It holiday time! There are gift guides everywhere on the internet, men in red suits, and cookies at every turn. Usually I start to panic right about now and wonder how anything will ever get done again, much less gifts purchased, wrapped, and given. But this year is different. It’s the 11th and I’ve already got some gifts AND wrapped them. I know! It helps that this past weekend was one of my favorite shopping events – Bitchcraft Trading Post!

From the website:

Bitchcraft Trading Post is a vintage & art collective event that was born under a full moon of creative friends: Rachel Pitler, Kimberly Murray, Lori Jackson and Erica Docimo.

Through their love for crafting & daydreaming, they joined forces to create a gathering of friends who are like minded to sell and barter their art, food and vintage. From this one event came a monsoon of crafty critters and Bitchcraft’s birth was destined for more!

Bitchcraft’s mission statement is to help bring out the craft spirits in all of us by providing a venue where artists of all types can showcase their talents.

We host a variety of vendors who sell hand-made goods, vintage items, jewelry, artwork, records, food, beverages & more…

 I can’t go into details of what we got because, duh, they’re gifts. But I CAN tell you that they are amazing items, one of a kind, delicious, and wearable art. 😉
One thing I desperately wanted for myself, but didn’t get because I was being good, was a rosary from DD Saint Marie. Holy christmas, you guys, they are absolutely stunning and hand made. You have to check them out. (I’d post pictures, but I’m too impatient to wait for permission.)
Coming up this weekend is the Echo Park Craft Fair! (Which is actually happening on the border of silver lake/los feliz, but whatever.)
Malls are overwhelming to me on the best of days so I make sure to avoid them during december. Between these kind of events, the little boutiques near my house, and of course Skylight Books I’m set!
How do you do gifting? What are your favorite places to shop? Or do you DIY all the way?
Matching dresses for the ladies? Oh yes.

Matching dresses for the ladies? Oh yes.

**This picture has nothing to do with gifts or craft fairs, but it IS holiday related. That counts, right?
3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2013 10:01 am

    Super cute picture. Super hip fashion. Yeah, stay away from the malls. Ain’t no pregnant ladies got time for those kinds of crowds or germs!

  2. December 11, 2013 10:03 am

    PS: I try to DIY it. Knit gifts, homemade bath salts, etc. My kid’s teachers and therapists are getting homemade fudge and strawberry jam.

    • Clementine permalink*
      December 11, 2013 6:32 pm

      I won’t be mad if you send me your fudge recipe, Dani. 🙂

Leave a Reply

