Skip to content

Reverse S.A.D. is totally a thing.

December 12, 2013

Word on the street is that we could get into the 80’s this weekend here in Los Angeles. If you’ve ever met me you know the fear and despair that strikes in my heart. Knowing that I’m having a child makes it worse.

I grew up here, mostly. We travelled a lot and spent more holidays than not in Memphis, so I DID get a taste of weather here and there, but I’ve never had the excitement of the beginnings of spring. We were never anywhere long enough to feel the relief at the end of a long hard winter. I envy that feeling. The first time New Yorkers venture out to the parks and bask in 70 degree weather, or see the first Mister Softee of the season. There is no environmental specialness here. Sure, we have outdoor ice skating here and there, but generally you’ll be too hot in a sweater- never mind ear muffs! (I love ear muffs.) And forget warming up with hot chocolate, you’ll boil from the inside out.

I want my kids to have what I didn’t. I want them to know the changes of seasons deep in their bones and everything they symbolize- not get a hint as to the time of year from decorations in Beverly Hills.

I know I’m complaining. I know there are those of you out there with frosty toes thinking, “Screw you and your perfect weather, Clementine.” But it’s NOT perfect, not everyday. The sun can become as irritating and crushing as the non-stop rain in that Ray Bradbury story where it drives people mad and kills them. I’m desperate for clouds and drizzle. Some days I look outside and want to crawl back in bed and pull the covers over my head. But I can’t. Because it’s too hot.

Bah humbug!

*And no, we can’t move, as much as I’d like to.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    December 12, 2013 12:06 pm

    I can relate. I’m a minority for many reason; white, female, lesbian but the one that irritates me the most is the crazy, stupid, hot weather and my distaste for it. Most people think I’m nuts. Every year I get so excited for fall to come, and every fall it’s fucking 80 degrees still! Come to think of it just 2 days ago it was 83. I believe summer weather belongs in the summer months. I’m originally from ohio and really don’t have a good explanation for ending up in the not so great state of Georgia. Alas, here I am on December 12th, 2013 in short sleeves, longing for a nip in the air.

  2. Shóna Ní Bhriain permalink
    December 13, 2013 7:06 am

    House swap? for a year. I live in Ireland. Lots of seasons, every day.

Leave a Reply

