Skip to content

There’s a real person in there

December 16, 2013
tags:

I’m HUGE and I’m pretty sure it happened overnight. It’s such a strange feeling- growing a person. More overwhelming to me though are the swirling thoughts of what I’m supposed to be feeling.

obligatory silly pregnant pose.

obligatory silly pregnant pose.

I’ve always had the idea that I would LOVE being pregnant. That I would swim and do yoga and sit in fields and meditate all the time with amazing fashion sense. I’m pretty sure I was  somehow taller and thinner in those fantasies also, but that’s a different post. The thing is, I am still me- sometimes moody, sometimes cranky, not always nice, trying to be present and do my best- just pregnant.

obligatory not so silly pregnancy photo.

obligatory not so silly pregnancy photo.

It’s not that I dislike it, I don’t. I think it’s amazing, it’s just not what I (unrealistically) expected. I’m not walking on clouds. If anything, I’m firmly grounded. I’m excited, but also nervous. In no time at all this little being I already love so much will be here and I’ll still be me. Kind of scary.

*I’ve even put off registering because I’m terrified of making the wrong choices! Oye.

**Ignore the hideous background! It’s what happens when you’re walking out of the house and realize you are 6.5 months pregnant with not one single picture to prove it!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mel permalink
    December 16, 2013 10:54 am

    its so funny i talk about this all the time – nothing “feels” like i thought it would feel – pregnancy, birth, or being a mom…xo Mel

  2. Joann Taylor permalink
    December 19, 2013 11:09 am

    You look beautiful and all will be well. Your motherly instinct along with your friends and family will make sure of it. It’s best to still be you. And why wouldn’t you want to still be you? You’re awesome! You’ll just be you with a baby. You’ll be you with lack of sleep, etc. It’s all worth it.

    There’s no rule book on how you’re supposed to feel. As long as you feel something, you’re doing it correctly!

Trackbacks

  1. All these little moments sure do add up, don’t they? | The Dog Ate My Antidepressants

Leave a Reply

