Skip to content

What’s your morning routine?

December 17, 2013

A decade ago I loved waking up, making tea, and watching television. At 20 my favorites were sitcoms like Wings. (I know.) But now it’s the last thing in the world I want. The world itself is stimulating enough after spending the night in the dark and asleep. I don’t need blaring moving pictures to complicate things further.

I don't know what I was mourning or what the parenthetical means next to it, but you get the idea.

Mourning Suits! (I couldn’t figure out what the hell that parenthetical was all about until right now!)

Cyrus is more like my twenty year old self. He’s not awake more than five minutes before the tv is on. I can’t complain, he works all day. He can do what he wants with the little bit of down time he has. My problem is, if he gets up before me and I lose that quiet, slow time at the beginning of the day I can’t seem to make it up. I can turn off the tv after he leaves and drink my tea and journal, or meditate, or do yoga, but something is just… off.

Be "OPEM"?

Be “OPEM”?

Is this just me? Do you feel like how you begin it colors the rest of your day? How important is that time for you?

What does your morning look like?

IMG_0700

A perfect memphis morning. Cold weather, hot coffee, and writing in my great-grandparents’ bedroom while my grandmother slept downstairs.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2013 10:55 am

    I am bad, I wake up make a cuppa and switch on my Pc or Laptop, Sometimes i read

    • Clementine permalink*
      December 17, 2013 1:11 pm

      I don’t think it’s bad if it makes you feel good.

  2. December 17, 2013 12:35 pm

    I wake up in the dark, pad out to the kitchen, and make myself a two-servings pot of coffee. I drink the first cup and read the newspaper while my pugs patiently chill in their kennels (they’ve been trained to wait without a fuss). I herd the dogs outside for a quick pee/poop, then feed them breakfast. Over my second cup of coffee, I check FaceBook and emails. An hour after I wake, I’m ready for whatever happens next. (BTW I go to sleep each night with a smile on my face, thinking about how I get coffee and the paper the next morning!)

    • Clementine permalink*
      December 17, 2013 1:11 pm

      Juli- obviously I’m not drinking coffee right now, but I know that feeling!

  3. Erin permalink
    December 17, 2013 1:01 pm

    My old routine involved sleeping until noon,eating something and watching tv until I left for work at 6p. My new routine which is accompanied by a new job is getting up at 5am, showering, letting the dog out and dashing to work. I’m supposed to be there at 6 and getting up at 5 really isn’t enough time but I refuse to set my alarm with a 4 in front of it. Refuse. I used to sit outside for 20 minutes, with coffee and several cigarettes but since I’m 2 weeks on the wagon with smoking, coffee got the axe too. And you know I’m not sure if it’s the “early to rise” thing or I have a tumor or something but I’ve never been so inspired creatively, never, or so grateful for waking up alive everyday.

    • Clementine permalink*
      December 17, 2013 1:10 pm

      Congratulations on two weeks non-smoking. That’s amazing!

      • Erin permalink
        December 18, 2013 11:45 am

        Thanks!! Loving all the posts lately

Leave a Reply

