Skip to content

2014 so far

January 2, 2014

Happy New Year!

This holiday was completely different from any other year I can remember. All traditions went out the window and plans changed, but it couldn’t have been more perfect.

For those who don’t know, the celebration of a new year is my absolute favorite holiday. When I was a kid we would get out all the pots and pans and utensils and any instruments (including a cowbell!) and hold our breaths until midnight when we would bang and play and yell and scream. Sometimes we’d even take it outside. It didn’t even occur to me until way later in life that some people, kids especially, would actually be asleep at such an hour.

As an adult my New Year’s Eves have included some most ridiculous, spectacular parties, the kind that end on a roof watching the sunrise in sticky, sweaty, champagne drenched clothes, the most mundane- watching the world’s fireworks on a split screen feed in Canada in my in-laws living room, and (once) drinking champagne in the back seat of a car on Santa Monica Blvd. because my dear friend’s ex had shown up at a party with another dude. He was so upset that when we left said party and went to a bar, he got into a fight and we had to flee. It turned midnight before we decided where else to go.

And everything else in between.

New Year’s Day has always been about black eyed peas, greens, and cornbread. We set up at my mom’s and keep things bubbling all day for whoever comes through.

This year, though I was one of those people. The kind I didn’t know existed until recently? I fell asleep at 11:45.

Cyrus and I  met friends at the beach early for sunset and a fire. (And s’mores-duh.) I didn’t burn anything, even symbolically, but cheered them on as they did. My thing has always been a “closing a chapter” to release and let go of the past more than fire. We’d meant to stay for 2 hours. 6 hours later we all trudged to our cars, shivering to head home. (And I mean trudged- One of us is nearly 8 months pregnant and it’s not me.) It was such a perfect evening that I felt I’d already said goodbye to 2013. Cyrus is dealing with the after effects of a nasty cold and so we got into bed as soon as we got home. It might be the first time in my life that I’ve fallen asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow! We woke up briefly courtesy of the fireworks and gun shots that signaled the shift from one year to the next, but only long enough to whisper, “happy new year” to each other.

So I missed midnight and I never did write down my reflections on 2013, but somehow I don’t feel like I missed a thing.

*Just wrote all this and realize that I haven’t even gotten to New Year’s Day. It’s kind of more of the same- missing traditions, unexpected changes, and inopportune sleep. What do you think? Should I write about it?*

photo courtesy of sistersinblack

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    January 2, 2014 1:29 pm

    Please do.

  2. January 3, 2014 10:52 am

    Happy 2014 to you and your Husband

Trackbacks

  1. January Recap | The Dog Ate My Antidepressants

Leave a Reply

