Skip to content

An honest ramble- like it or not.

January 10, 2014

IMG_0449

I just wrote a whole post that I’m not posting. It grew beyond what I’d expected and I think I need to sit with it for awhile and figure out what to do with it. Sometimes I feel like blogging isn’t enough. Like what I have to say is bigger than my little corner of the internet. Yep, I realize I sound like a self-important wind bag. Or maybe it’s that I’m looking for validation from outside. I want to write and write and write. I want to reach people the way that I have been reached. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read something, and I’m sure you have to, and nearly wept in grateful recognition. I want to share and give back. But what does it mean if no one wants it. Or, if they do want it, there is an added note of “can you maybe make it more about your relationship with your mom?” and “Can we maybe make your mom a part of the piece?”

Does this mean that what I have to say only counts in how it relates to my famous parent?

I’ve often wanted to write an essay on exactly this , but I don’t know how. Because it’s one little thing in a lifetime of lucky and how does that help anyone?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Renee K permalink
    January 10, 2014 5:37 pm

    I sorta stumbled upon your blog a month or so ago but truthfully never fully dove in. Your title today sparked much interest for me as I just, the night before, shared with a friend that I had written a really raw piece/blog but could not bring myself to click publish. My friend responded in shock sharing that she did not think anything could be too raw for me to post – my writings live in a land of vulnerability and desire to make meaning out of our everyday. The title of my unpublished blog (currently sitting as a draft) is My Honest Ramble… I am a rambler. It is how I am wired and yet I like to think that my rambles often offer profound thought and pause, and on days I’m lucky inspiration to those I love and care about. Your title intrigued me and then your post hooked me. I related to so much of your message and words – the desired validation, the need to reach people and the confidence to know your words and story are capable of doing so. The occasional doubt of wondering if no one will read but writing regardless because it is just what you do and feel the need to do. This lead me to explore your blog a little further. I have not read every post as of yet however the ones I have lead me to know I will. I, too, write to connect and read for the same reasons. Which is why I don’t mind stating I will read your entire blog maybe not today in its entirety but I will. I don’t feel it to be creepy or stalkerish in stating such, even though you are a celebrity and I a mere mortal. 😉 So far I feel connected and want that to grow further thus I will continue to read. I also hope that my rambles help others and offer smiles. I will share that already your writing has offered me more than one smile. I greatly appreciated your sentence on every person needing a fews years to be a disaster, to make mistakes and enjoy life. Oh the truth of that statement and stories it brings in wicked flashbacks. And your post on “Addressing things I shouldn’t have seen…” powerful. Why can’t we all get along and simply wish for everyone to find and embrace love – why is it not that simple. Hell, my five year old niece understands the purity of love far more than my peers or greater society. Why the need to label and prescribe levels of value… well, that could easily become another Renee rant. Anywho, I wanted to take a moment to share I am glad to have stumbled upon your blog, that you have added both smiles and connection to my Friday evening, thank you. I like your writing and hope you continue to post. Cheers!

  2. kayebishop permalink
    January 10, 2014 8:21 pm

    With or without a famous parent, just be you. Maybe you need a blog under an alias name so you can say all the things that you really want to be able to say. Love your posts Clementine and your style of writing.

  3. Izz permalink
    January 10, 2014 11:47 pm

    I discovered your dirty ballerina blog back in 2009 and I fell in love with it. Your style of writing, the content, everything about it pulled me into reading more and more, down to the last post. They were gems. I’ve never commented or tweeted you because I guess I never had a reason to. I was a silent far away admirer, I assure you, not in a creepy way. Somehow this post made me feel that I should say something. So anyway, after reading your blog, I decided to make one. When I entered college, I took a course that was all math (not complaining), just that I lost touch of writing (not that I’m in any way a good writer) and even though I didn’t know what it was then, there was a void when writing left me, or when I left it. Reading your blog made me realise, writing is the best medium to express, to let out, to just share a piece of you, or your thoughts to the world. Even if its nothing, even if no one cares. I got some of my friends to start blogging as well, and it wasn’t an easy task considering it was the beginning of the twitter era. It was nice to see them write about just anything under the sun, about their elaborated thoughts and experiences more than 140 characters. Your writing reminded me about the importance of writing and how it feels to come up with something, anything. I must also mention that I’m from part of the world where I don’t know your famous parent, and English is not our first language (might be redundant), but your writing touched me anyway, regardless. So all of that seems irrelevant if that’s the reason pulling you back. Point is, you have inspired me with your writing, so please, by all means, reach out the way you have been reached, and the cycle will continue..pay it forward. xx

  4. January 11, 2014 10:32 am

    To be honest, I don’t read anything you write looking for information on your mom. There are plenty of people that write about her. I enjoy reading your thoughts and feelings. If a post happens to include your mom…great. Most people talk about their family.

  5. Mary Beth permalink
    January 13, 2014 1:31 pm

    I, too, have been a silent admirer of your writing style and most especially, your content. I watched you and your mom on The L Word. But honestly, when you made the statement about your famous parent, I had to pause and re-remember who that was! To me, this speaks volumes about both your individuality and your special style. And I don’t know many people who wouldn’t want to investigate the person behind a blog titled, “The Dog Ate My Antidepressants”!

  6. May 19, 2014 7:26 pm

    First and foremost, your mom is awesome. Fact. And when you include her in your stories, you make her seem as awesome a real person/real mom as she is an awesome part of history.

    BUT, there’s probably a larger story you can tell. In small towns, in small circles, a lot of girls feel defined by the public perception of their mothers. And I think all women since the feminist movement have felt the struggle to carve their own paths. It’s a totally fair universal theme, is all.

    What I’m really saying is, if you struggle with writing because people want to know about your mom, maybe writing about how hard it is to write because people want to know about your mom isn’t the best idea 😉

    You’re a good writer. Write what you write. If your mom happens in a story, fair enough. If she doesn’t, then she didn’t need to.

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Monday | The Dog Ate My Antidepressants

Leave a Reply

