Skip to content

Greasy

January 15, 2014

Or “greazy” as my mom would say. As I sit here typing my palms do a half slip on the computer and when I scratch my nose it’s more of a slide.

My Sweet Mama (Great-grandmother) used to slather her face with Vaseline once a week.  I remember kissing her hello on those days and sticking. It was revolting but no one could deny that she had perfect skin until the day she died.

I’ve never tried the Vaseline trick myself, though my mom swears by it. I’m more of an oil girl.

I was first introduced to the concept of using oil as a cleanser when I worked at Lush Pasadena. There was a solid mound that would liquify when rubbed between the palms, then smoothed on the face, and removed with a warm cloth. To be honest, it didn’t really work for me, which I why I haven’t included the product name.

Snagged from egyptianmagic.com

Snagged from egyptianmagic.com

A few years later, while shooting the L Word, I discovered Egyptian Magic. We shot some scenes that were set after oil wrestling (not going into that, you’ll have to google) that required us to be shiny and evidently this stuff was the best way to get that way. At the end of the day I wiped my face, washed, moisturized, and went to bed. When I woke up my skin was glowing and soft. I was sold and bought a tub. It continued to work wonders until I came back to Los Angeles where it must have just been too much with all the dirt and smog because I started breaking out. (Not to be an asshole, but I don’t break out, so this was weird.) Out it went.

snagged from josiemarancosmetics.com

snagged from josiemarancosmetics.com

And then one day I heard about Josie Maran Cosmetics. It’s all about the argan oil. It’s the basis of every product. She calls it “liquid gold”. My first thought- at $48 for 1.7 ounces it better be! The truth was, liquid gold or not, I couldn’t afford it. So I did a little research. (I might have done months of research.) Once I figured out that I could get organic argan oil at Whole Foods for $15 an ounce, I was in. I used nothing but that for an entire summer. I even applied it multiple times a day in Manhattan! And no break out, no redness, nothing but great skin. And then, AND THEN, someone asked me what I was doing differently because I was glowing. (This was long before pregnancy, people!) I had found my skin’s soulmate.

 

snagged from auracacia.com

snagged from auracacia.com

I still use it and love it. Right now I’m using Acure Organics because it was on sale and I thought- why not? I’ve since found out that it is harvested sustainably from a women’s cooperative in Morocco, which is pretty great.023-2T

One day, when I can, maybe I’ll spring for the Josie Maran stuff, just to see if it’s any better. (They all have the same ingredient- “100% organic argan oil.) But for now, I’m pretty happy and if it ain’t broke, then I ain’t tryin’ to fix it.

On the rest of me it’s all coconut oil all the time. One of the sisters in black turned me on to it and if you could see her skin, you’d do whatever she says, too! It’s greazy and stinky, but it’s healed some scars and (I’m sure hoping) prevented some stretch marks.

600 words later I guess what I’m trying to say is, I’m a greasy girl and I like it!

*What do you guys think about posts like this, products, skin care, etc? In the past I have been a bit of a product junkie and love talking about it, even though I’m a super simple (non-toxic when possible) Sally these days.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. ptoooey permalink
    January 16, 2014 2:39 am

    Nothing makes my skin feel more nourished than good ol’ Vaseline petroleum jelly. It’s been part of my before-bed regime for years now. I also swear by Sensatia products, esp this one for the face, http://sensatia.com/face/anti-wrinkle_therapy/ages_20.en.php

    • Clementine permalink*
      January 16, 2014 3:23 pm

      I just can’t with the sticky!

  2. January 16, 2014 6:10 am

    My Mom Swore by the vaseline trick as well, and her skin was so soft, but i don’t like the smell of it and its greasy, i don’t usually suffer from spotty skin, but i suffer terrible with dry skin, found a product my aunt says is good Re-Gen Oil, it actually works and smells nice, may try the product you suggested 🙂

  3. January 16, 2014 10:15 am

    Wow, this is timely! My sister swears by the Josie Maran stuff, but it’s so pricey I didn’t want to try it. Going to look for Argan Oil at Whole Foods next time I’m there. (P.S. My mom swore by rubbing cocoa butter on her pregnant tummy to prevent stretch marks. Don’t know if that was really what did it, but she never had a one. And she says it smelled marvelous!)

    • Clementine permalink*
      January 16, 2014 3:22 pm

      One of my mom friends gave me some cocoa butter, but I’m sold on my coconut oil, so I haven’t tried it yet, maybe I should! (The one I got at whole foods is by Aura Cacia. Whichever you get make sure it only has one ingredient- 100% organic argan oil. Lots of them say argan oil, but have other crap in them.) Meanwhile, YOU have spectacular skin.

Trackbacks

  1. Honey Honey! | The Dog Ate My Antidepressants
  2. Throwing It Back #3 | The Dog Ate My Antidepressants
  3. My Face Smells Like Salad | The Dog Ate My Antidepressants

Leave a Reply

