Skip to content

2 Weeks?

January 17, 2014

That’s what a guy said to me at Erewhon today.

-Um, no. (I laughed.) 2 months!

I just couldn’t bear to admit that it’s actually 3!

-Croatian?

-Nope. Just a mutt like me.

-Ah. American?

-I guess so.

I didn’t see the point in getting into the whole quarter persian thing. He then gave me some advice that his friends with kids had all told him. He doesn’t have any of his own.

I put the strawberries I was holding into my cart and wandered away while he was distracted by something green. I may have given a little wave, but maybe not.

I don’t know exactly why it felt any stranger than other conversations about my pregnancy, including the security guard at the Getty who told me that I’d be having a Valentine’s baby.

Thank god for the older (greek?) woman who winked at me in the check out line. It made me feel protected in a weird way.

I’m trying to enjoy these moments that are unique to the pregnant experience, especially knowing that once I cross the threshold and am exhausted with bird’s nest hair and a screaming infant these same people will more than likely shake their heads at me in frustration!

Or maybe not.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara Newnes permalink
    January 17, 2014 12:58 pm

    I really enjoyed everything about being pregnant (probably as I knew that it would be my only pregnancy) but the one thing I found totally odd was strangers reactions to it. Most of the conversations and interactions were great but some people thought it was ok to just go right ahead and feel my baby bump – odd! If someone tried to touch my non-pregnant stomach I’d likely run a mile but for some reason I had an inner dilemma of ‘is it rude to tell them to back the hell up’, ‘can I slap them away and blame it on the hormones?’ or should I just smile and put up with it? I tended to do the third option which is really weird – I guess I just thought they were trying to be nice lol.

  2. Karin permalink
    January 21, 2014 11:37 am

    People are truly fascinated by pregnant women. I’ve never been pregnant but I’ve often noticed the strange fascination people have with pregnant women. Not only do people feel compelled to touch a pregnant woman’s belly but they also feel compelled to talk to pregnant women and ask them all kinds of questions about their pregnancy. I think it’s just a universal thing with mammals. I once read an article by a gorilla keeper here at the Atlanta Zoo. She said something I’ve never forgotten which is that when a female gorilla is pregnant, and especially once she gives birth, she is the most popular gorilla in the group. All of the other gorillas want to be close to her. So I guess that, for now, you’re just the most popular gorilla in the group!

    • Clementine permalink*
      January 21, 2014 12:07 pm

      Ha! I love this so much!

Leave a Reply

