Skip to content

Honey Honey!

January 19, 2014

Or, why put something on your skin if you wouldn’t eat it? You’re ingesting it either way.

from honeyfanatic.com

from honeyfanatic.com

On the heels of that argan oil post I’m realizing that I forgot one other vital change in my skin care routine that happened concurrent to my discovery the slippery stuff- I started washing my face with honey!

I would thin it out with some warm water and spread it on my face, if I had time I would let it sit like a mask for a little while before rinsing (very thoroughly, otherwise it’s gross). Sometimes I’d do it before getting in the shower and rinse it in there. Sometimes I’d do the whole process in the shower.

I don’t know how I forgot about that, especially since pregnancy has done wacky things to my skin. I’ve been moaning about redness and the occasional pimple right in the middle of my cheek while using this ole henrickson stuff I’ve had for a while. (I don’t like to waste and it’s not the cleanser’s fault, so I’ve been trying to use it up). Last night I’d had it and went back to the honey routine thinking it might help.

This morning I woke up with much less irritation. I’m pretty impressed. It officially made my good skin better and cleared up some pregnancy sore spots over night. It’s not perfect, but it looks much less angry. Honestly, I wasn’t sure if it would work so it didn’t occur to me to take before and after pictures. Sorry about that.

If you DO decide to try it, make sure you get the least processed stuff you can get your hands on. A lot of folks recommend raw, unpasteurized, etc, but I think in a pinch you do what you can. (I’ve used the (most likely super processed) honey that comes in hotel jars.) Don’t spend a bunch of money on new stuff if you have some at home already. Unless you want to, that’s up to you.

Last night, and for the foreseeable future, I used honey from a beekeeper friend and I don’t know the details, other than he’s a great guy, with great energy, who cares about the world, so I feel good about it. See? I’m not such a stickler.

I can’t remember where I first heard of this idea. It was probably this article on hello giggles, but you can also read a little more about it here (this is a link to a honey post on http://www.bohemiankate.com/, which I suspect is going to become my new obsession) and here.

Leave a Reply

