Skip to content

My happy place

January 21, 2014

When life is racing and frozen at the same time and my anxiety is taking over I often make my way to my local bookstore (Skylight Books). Sometimes (more than my wallet would like) I buy something, sometimes I don’t. Either way, I feel better every time. I used to think it was shopping in general, but it only works at the bookstore. Something about the stacks of stories and words and paper with carefully chosen cover art and fonts does it for me. Maybe it’s the care that I know went into the words. The lives. The hearts. I know one of my happy places shouldn’t be consumer based, but if it works, it works, right?

snagged from indiebound.org

snagged from indiebound.org

Do you have an unusual “happy place”? Or are you more of a beach, palm tree, margarita in the breeze type person?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Beth permalink
    January 21, 2014 10:50 am

    I used to love going to the airport and standing out on the observation deck watching planes come and go above me. It seems those days are long gone now, even though I still contend security should be able to spot someone dragging a ground-to-air missle launcher up the stairs to the outside observation deck.

    Now, I, too, go to the local, independently owned bookstore. Less frequently, I’ll go to the aisle in Lowes where they have all the drawers with every nut, bolt, cotter pin, spring, washer, etc. I must be easily amused, because each time, it seems, I find something I haven’t seen before. Then I go home and try to figure out ways to use unusual pieces parts!

    • Clementine permalink*
      January 21, 2014 12:08 pm

      That sounds wonderful. We have a couple of private airports around here that have restaurants where you can sit and watch the planes. It’s not the same, obviously, but maybe a good substitute.

  2. January 21, 2014 11:42 am

    Bookstores are a great mood-picker-upper, and I’d add junk shops, resale shops, and yarn shops. Something about the possibilities inherent in painting, refurbishing, or knitting something cheers me up.

  3. January 21, 2014 3:36 pm

    Something about the smell of ink and paper is really comforting to me. Independently owned book shops are nice because they have a homey feel to them. Big name stores like Indigo and Chapters feel to busy for me, and I don’t feel like I’m able to get to know a book before I commit. Then again, I haven’t bought a book from a store in a long time, the internet always has the best deals. At least that’s the way it is in Canada. The libraries where I’m from are quite nice though, so sometimes I go there to get some quiet.

    I also really like the sound of water. I grew up living near Lake Ontario and it was always really nice to go down to the park, find a bench with some shade and and just listen to the waves roll in.

    • Clementine permalink*
      January 21, 2014 6:44 pm

      How great! I agree about the internet having the best deals unless you have a good used book store nearby. (If you ever get to L.A. The Last Bookstore is heaven!) I wish I could go tot he library, but I’m not very good at returning the books I check out.

Leave a Reply

