Skip to content

speaking of happy things

January 22, 2014

For a naturally unorganized person I am  obsessed with planners. Okay, for any person, I’m  obsessed with planners. And not just brand new pretty ones or my own, but also other people’s. In many cases I find them to be infinitely more personal and telling than a journal.

One phrase, even as simple as, “Coffee with ****”, will bring back every little detail from that moment and on through that day. A few blank pages followed by a flight number screams loss. And my favorite- the coffee stain that became a water color just makes me so happy.

It all started in high school with a classic Filofax. I ditched it and got a new one in college for no reason other than I was a wasteful teenager. That one lasted until my mid-twenties. It was thrashed and covered in stickers that I’d gotten at some show downtown, which I only stuck on because I had nowhere else to put them and wouldn’t throw them away in front of the guy who gave them to me. (I’m a sucker.) In my late twenties I switched to the Moleskine. (A friend and I would give each other the exact same planner year after year.) I stuck with it because stacks of notebooks look a lot cleaner than envelopes of “week on two pages” Filofax loose leafs. I also liked being able to symbolically close the book on and put away the previous year. Eventually, on a decluttering bender that I really regret, I ditched the Filofax. I donated it to Goodwill. I kind of miss it, but it’s probably because of this picture from one of my favorite NY Times articles:nytimes.com

Cluttered paper heaven via: nytimes.com

Yep, I have it bookmarked.

Right now I’m using this one and I like it. Very no frills, maybe next year I’ll go for something colorful. I’m always envious of people who make their own, but I know I’d never do it. What are your favorite planners, notebooks, datebooks, diaries?

snagged from moleskine.com

snagged from moleskine.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    January 22, 2014 1:06 pm

    I use moleskine too… I actually have the exact one, except mine is orange. In the beginning of 2013 a friend of mine asked me to become ordained so I could marry him and his fiancé. I did so and began performing ceremonies on the reg. which is actually pretty strange for me since I’m not very religious, not that you have to be,I suppose. Anyway, I performed my roommates ceremony and as a gift she got me a new one. Not moleskine but it looks similar and she had it monogrammed (pretty bad ass). I typically use that one for anything wedding related and keep my orange one for more private conversations.

  2. January 23, 2014 10:07 pm

    I have a teeny moleskine, usually in a pretty color like bright blue or lilac or purple, and at the end of the day, I write some little thing about what happened. Sometimes all I can manage to say is “God***it! This sucks!” but usually it’s sometime much happier. I have a fantasy that maybe someday I’ll sit down with all these teeny little books and have a laugh looking back at my life, but then again, maybe I’ll never look at them again. Either way, it’s fun.

Trackbacks

  1. Paper and journals and notebooks-Oh my! | The Dog Ate My Antidepressants

Leave a Reply

