Skip to content

TMI?

January 26, 2014

Prepare yourselves…

I have stretch marks! 3 to be exact. They’re smaller than my pinky and only on the left underside of my belly. (Since when do bellies have undersides?! Oh, right, pregnancy. Also, I absolutely hate the word “belly”.) Somehow I feel like I’ve failed at something, though I’m not sure what. I’ve been diligent about applying coconut oil, eating lots of greens, healthy fats, and drinking water, but there they are. I can’t help but wonder if it’s because I didn’t use the cocoa butter a friend gave me. (I just couldn’t, the smell was too much.) Or maybe it’s because I was skeptical about specific “stretch mark” creams. I’ve also been refusing to use anything non-organic.

My doctor laughed when I brought it up to him and told me that they either happen or they don’t, but that oils and such aren’t a bad idea. Then he told me that if that’s my biggest problem I’m doing okay. Yes, he has a point, but COME ON! None of my stunning  new mama friends have them. Their skin is perfect! And I know one shouldn’t compare, but I can’t help it. I want to be beautiful too, dagnabbit! (This is not a fishing expedition.)

So, what did I do about it, you ask? I threw everything aside and bought proper “stretch mark” creams. pregnantbellysalve_main

I got the Motherlove Pregnant Belly Salve. All of the ingredients are certified organic except for the apricot oil. (This will not give me a panic attack, this will not give me a panic attack, this will not…) It doesn’t have any preservatives and it smells like real lavender and chamomile, not some nasty fake stuff. The only downside I see so far is, it’s gooey. Like, reeeeaaaal gooey. Looks like this will be a night time product, more than likely.

I also got Earth Mama Body Butter. This one is a traditional lotion. And honestly, I’m not crazy about the smell- sweet orange and neroli are only two of the ingredients, but seem to be all I smell. (Probably because I hate them.) Because of the texture though, this one wins for the day time I think.earth-mama-body-butter

Besides the ingredients and safety rating, etc. I chose these because I can use them after pregnancy. I have no intention of buying something that will only be thrown out in a few months. (Which reminds me, I really need to go thrifting for maternity wear soon!)

Also and incidentally, it was kind of hard to buy something that says “for external use only”, as everything else I have, expect for  sunblock,  is edible (at least in theory). Trying not to freak out if I accidentally get some in my mouth. (Is this just me? Like, I’m afraid that without thinking I’ll bite my nails or something – I know, shhh- and have lotion on them and something terrible will happen! Or I’ll get a stomach ache…

Was this whole thing tmi? Mamas, are these things you worry/worried about? Should I delete this post immediately and hide my blog in shame, never to post again?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2014 12:44 pm

    Ok, so during my first pregnancy nine years ago, I had zero stretch marks….until the verrrrry end. Then I got these teeny tiny little lines that I couldn’t even see unless I looked really hard. Once I saw them, I couldn’t unsee them. They were all over my “belly”. Yep, same thing this time around. Ugh. I kinda feel like there are more this time, which is interesting because I haven’t gained as much weight as last time. I also can NOT handle the smell of the cocoa butter. I’ve really just used the lotions I had lying around. This might be the difference between my first and last times- I know I bought a nice lotion last time. I’m not sure there’s much difference this time. But I am a lot older and I know that takes a toll on, ummm, everything.
    We are allowed some vanity, so I say keep this post up and be proud of where you are!
    Ps: I have 4 more sleeps (actually sleepless nights) until he’s here!!!

  2. January 26, 2014 12:53 pm

    They’re Life Badges, baby, just like wrinkles and age spots and that gnarly pinkish, shiny place where the dermatologist zapped off that suspicious-looking mole. They’re proof that you’ve lived well, and fully, and don’t you DARE let anybody (including yourself!) feel bad about having them!

  3. nooneknowsthisishere permalink
    January 31, 2014 7:19 am

    My best friend didn’t buy anything special, just used plain old olive oil you buy in the shops. and her belly was a BIG belly (tiny baby though, oddly). Not a stretch mark in sight.

Leave a Reply

