Skip to content

Throwing It Back #3

February 6, 2014

 

 

 

IMG_0255

Update on why we called her Sweet Mama at the bottom of the post.

1. That there is my Sweet Mama. I don’t know why we called her that. My mom and her siblings called her Mama with a big emphasis on the first syllable. Maybe they didn’t know what else to do when I was born so they added a “Sweet”.

2. She’s the one I mentioned in “Greasy“, with her Vaseline days.

3. Her name was Gladys, but everyone called her Tommy. She lost her mother when she was very young and was raised by her father dirt poor. When my Great Grandfather (no special name, he died before I was born) made buckets of money she never let go of her down to earth farm girl spirit. This little bit of information comes from my nanny and my Grandma, who always told me that she was nice to everybody, in contrast to my Mee Maw, her daughter, who… wasn’t.

4. She is the reason I’m obsessed with my eyebrows and keeping them thick and somewhat unruly. She plucked all hers out in the fashion of the 20’s (?) and regretted it her whole life.

5. Don’t think I don’t know how absolutely, ridiculously, stupendously lucky I am to have not only known, but had a relationship with, my great grandmother. (You might want to sit down, I also had a relationship with my Great Grandaddy. He’ll pop up in one of these soon. Maybe next week!)

** Update: From my Dad who was part of the grandfolk naming decision- “In deciding what to call her, Big Mama came up, like Big Daddy in “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof”. After some consideration, possibly mixed with a touch if vanity, Sweet Mama was the preferred choice. And it fit very well. She liked me from the beginning and was very supportive.”

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 6, 2014 9:21 pm

    Reblogged this on gramsly and commented:
    A sweet post about a relationship between great-grandmother & great-granddaughter. The best part? The nickname “Sweet Mama.” Love it!

Leave a Reply

