Skip to content

Some things you never- ever- want to smear

February 11, 2014

My dad came over yesterday. As usual we talked for what felt like an hour at most, but turned out to be three. Then of course I walked him out and kept talking. As we stood by his truck talking about a tree I felt something hit my face. I assumed it was a leaf- our Chinese elm thinks it’s fall- but when I put my hand up to it, to shake it out of my hair, it smeared. Smeared! My dad thought maybe it was a bug. I wondered, almost hoping, if there was such thing as a gooey purple bug. There’s not. It was bird poop. It dropped into my hair and dripped a bit down my face. Need proof? Here it is:

20140210-211733.jpg
If you look closely you can see a chunk in my hair. This is good luck, right?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karin permalink
    February 11, 2014 11:03 am

    Holy s**t! (Sorry, I had to!). My girlfriend and I were standing on a sidewalk in Amsterdam one day and the same thing happened to her. She screamed like she had been hit by a bullet and I, of course, collapsed, literally, into uncontrollable laughter.

    That being said, I suppose you know that in most of the Far East, being crapped on by a bird is VERY good luck. So enjoy your crappy good luck. I would say that, happening so close to your due date and all, this is mighty auspicious!!!

  2. February 12, 2014 9:10 am

    Luck? haha actually, my parents say that if a bird poops on you it’s a sign of luck and you should go and buy a lottery ticket. Not sure if it’s a Chinese cultural thing though. Happened to me at the beach once, but I didn’t win anything. I call shenanigans!

Leave a Reply

