Skip to content

Hearts and Farts or, Four Reasons I Dislike Valentine’s Day

February 12, 2014
It's like a lollipop, but broccoli. It's a broccoli pop! (I'd never turn down a vegetable bouquet, even on valentine's day!)

It’s like a lollipop, but broccoli. It’s a broccoli pop! (I’d never turn down a vegetable bouquet, even on valentine’s day!)

1. I see no point in a holiday that doesn’t actually mean time off from work for Cyrus.

2. While I love those damn conversation hearts, I don’t need to buy a card for them or take them out to dinner.

3. Speaking of dinner! Going out on Valentine’s Day is the worst. You always end up paying for food you don’t actually want. OR the set menu price includes alcohol, which I don’t drink.

4. I have no problem with people who love it and get all hearts and farts about it, but for me, if we ever get to the point where Cyrus needs hallmark to tell him to tell me that he loves me, that’ll be the end of that. (I know, cliche, but it’s true!)

Over the years when I’ve told people about my dislike for this “holiday” it’s elicited an eye roll or a sarcastic “right”. I think it’s the assumption that I hated it because I was single or in a bad relationship. My own sister even admitted on my first valentine’s day with Cyrus that she never really believed that I wasn’t into it. Apparently she figured that since I was happy and in love I’d be all about it. There is one positive to THIS Valentine’s day though, House of Cards is back! Yep, that’s as romantic as I plan to get on Friday and that suits me and my husband just fine. 🙂

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

