Skip to content

Throwing It Back #4

February 13, 2014

IMG_0257

1. That is Grandaddy, me, and Great-Grandaddy. There is a picture that includes my dad, but it’s at his house and I forgot to ask him to bring it when he came over.

2. When we were kids Great-Grandaddy would meow or bark softly and then look around for an animal. I can’t remember if we fell for it, I’ll have to rely on others for that, but I suspect we probably did.

3. He’s the only person I’ve ever known who had “a chair”. Not as in, owned a chair, but as in, “Don’t sit there, that’s Great-Grandaddy’s chair.” I think it had something to do with it being a very straight backed chair. He’s also the only person I’ve seen eat bread or crackers in buttermilk. I used to romanticize that snack, then I tried it… Not for me.

4. I always thought he and my Grandaddy looked so much alike, but now, not so much.

5. I suspect the day that my son meets his Great-Grandaddy will be one of the best in my life.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley king permalink
    February 13, 2014 10:55 am

    Hey Clementine…. I would like to think I’m not the only one who fell for that! I remember Grandaddy Ford doing that all of the time, also I wish I had sat in his straight chair more often, maybe my posture would be better. Ha.

  2. nicky crews permalink
    February 13, 2014 5:56 pm

    I can relate to everything you just wrote. im from the south and all daddys and granddaddys have a chair that is theirs. meaning don’t sit in it or either get up out of it when you see him coming..lol even the barking noises..lol that’s funny;)

  3. Karin permalink
    February 14, 2014 11:48 am

    Are these your maternal grandfathers? I ask because I see a lot of your mother in your Great Grandaddy’s face.

    Cornbread and buttermilk is a delicious snack most commonly enjoyed by Southern people over the age of 70. Lumpy rancid milk is also not for me.

    Thanks for sharing these wonderful, personal photos!

    • Clementine permalink*
      February 14, 2014 4:29 pm

      Nope- paternal. 🙂

  4. Karin permalink
    February 15, 2014 7:48 am

    Wow! That is just strange. I wonder what’s throwing me? Maybe I see you in his face and you look so much like your mother……. Hmmmm. Great photo, regardless!

    • Clementine permalink*
      February 15, 2014 5:04 pm

      Thanks! I actually look more like my dad, though I’m a pretty close mix of both. 🙂

Leave a Reply

