Skip to content

Gradually changing and shifting into a new normal

February 14, 2014

I’m flipping through the New Yorker that arrived today. I take a picture of the first cartoon because it makes me giggle and I can think of some other folks it might as well. I could scan it, but that would take work.

When I turn to “Goings on About Town” I stop. My stomach drops and I am hit with the knowledge that my days of last minute New York trips and all of their accoutrements are over. I’ll have to actually plan to see shows and pick and choose what readings to go to. I’m not complaining, it’s not a sadness even, but more of an intense realization of the changes to come. Such a small thing, but so huge at the same time.

The closer I get, we get, the more the little things get me. The more I see shifts that I never even thought about. I open myself to the new things that will replace the old. I remember my own trips with my family as a child and teenager and find solace in knowing that I will still do these things and I will do them with my son, as though for the first time all over again.

I can’t wait.

Here are some pictures from various trips and that New Yorker cartoon.

Somewhere in Manhattan trying to record how windy it was. I failed.

Somewhere in Manhattan trying to record how windy it was. I failed. That relaxed guy in the tshirt and back pack behind me is way too relaxed.

New Haven perfection

New Haven perfection

Also New Haven- Pipe Organ. My favorite!

Also New Haven- Pipe Organ. My favorite!

Memphis alley.

Memphis alley.

I'm always happy once I've landed, though I've since stopped recording it for posterity. (Mostly.)

I’m always happy once I’ve landed, though I’ve since stopped recording it for posterity. (Mostly.)

Somewhere.

Somewhere.

christian-louboutin-flowers.jpg

Relaxing in a green room at the Pierre. (As much as one can anyway.)

Britta was so mad at me for being a tourist and taking pictures on the subway. Can't say I blame her, but look how much fun we're having!

Britta was so mad at me for taking pictures on the subway. Can’t say I blame her, but look how much fun we’re having!

And there you have it.

And there you have it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

