Skip to content

Ten movies to watch when there’s nothing else to do

February 17, 2014

In honor of president’s day, another holiday I’m cranky about, mostly because Cyrus has to work, I’ve decided to list 10 movies that I could watch over and over anytime. They’re movies that make great lie on the couch and do nothing all day movies.

In no particular order and completely incomplete:
1. Wayne’s World
2. Tommy Boy
3. The Departed
4. Rear Window
5. 42nd Street
6. Footlight Parade
7. The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
8. Chances Are (I know. But whenever it’s on tv I stop what I’m doing and watch it. Don’t judge. ;))
9. Heathers
10. Amadeus

I should note that if I made this list tomorrow it might be a little different, luckily it’s today. These aren’t even my favorite movies, though some of them are, they’re just comfort movies- like matzoh ball soup or pupusas.
What are yours?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2014 10:43 am

    imagine me and you, Fried Green Tomatoes, Sunshine Cleaning, The Breakfast Club, Sleeping with the Enemy, Flatliners, The Goonies,The Neverending Story, Underworld Movies, omg i could keep going on, I am a movie Buff , and Music, Don’t want to put you in an induced Coma of Bordom, but if you want a feel good move imagine me and you Lena Heady and Piper Perabo, well worth it.

  2. February 17, 2014 11:07 am

    St. Elmo’s Fire, The Breakfast Club, The Godfather, Sixteen Candles, Back to the Future, Arthur, Airplane, Soapdish, Gone With the Wind, Dead Poets Society

  3. Karin permalink
    February 17, 2014 11:11 am

    Rear Window! I absolutely CANNOT pass up that movie. I could be on my way out the door to a funeral and I’d have to skip it if Rear Window was on. I want EVERY SINGLE outfit that Grace Kelly wears in that film, especially the green skirt and backless white halter-type blouse she wears in that one scene. I LOVE It when she opens her Mark Cross overnight case. Okay, enough of that.

    So in no order whatsoever:

    Rear Window

    Magnolia

    Das Boot (for the white knuckle suspense!)

    Grey Gardens (because I am a documentary FREAK! and this is one of the freakiest)

    Hush! Hush! Sweet Charlotte (Bette Davis and Agnes Moorehead are DIVINE!)

    A Streetcar Named Desire

    Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf (this is my all-time favorite #1!)

    The Graduate (I’m a Mike Nichols freak, one of the best directors of all time)

    Any Given Sunday (because only Oliver Stone could direct and edit a film about football and make it look like ballet!) Also this bears mention: I hate sports and yet, I love this film.

    and…………….Heathers! because ………. What’s your damage, Heather????

    This was fun!

  4. Karin permalink
    February 17, 2014 11:35 am

    Sorry to take up so much space here but your post today made me think of something.

    I was driving in my car and listening to NPR the other day. Author Rebecca Mead was being interviewed about her book, “My Life in Middlemarch” which is a reflection and a personal memoir about George Eliot’s masterpiece, Middlemarch, and how that one book has shaped the author’s life. One quote from the book, in particular, stuck with me:

    “When a reader is grasped and held by a book, reading does not feel like an escape from life so much as it feels like an urgent, crucial dimension of life itself. There are books that seem to comprehend us just as much as we understand them, or even more. There are books that grow with the reader as the reader grows, like a graft to a tree.”

    I identify so strongly with this quote and have had this experience with different books at different points in my life. The one book, more than any other book I’ve ever read, that had that effect on me is Jack London’s “Martin Eden”. I know it sounds weird. A Jack London book. But don’t think about “Call of the Wild” or “White Fang”. “Martin Eden” is a loosely autobiographical look at Jack London’s life. A college friend years ago had a literature professor who would pick one student (usually his best student), every semester, and he would give that one student a copy of “Martin Eden”. He would have them read the book and report on it. Hearing that story made me curious and so I read the book. I can’t describe the way that book affected me other than to say it completely blew me away and it changed, forever, the way I look at life and the way I look at learning.

    I’m certain that anyone who reads as much as you is bound to have a book, or a few books, that have had that effect on you.

    Maybe you’ll do a post about that (or maybe you already have?)

    • Clementine permalink*
      February 17, 2014 5:33 pm

      Wow. Thanks for sharing. I wouldn’t even know where to start- I think I’ve blogged about books I liked but I think that’s a great idea to really zero in.
      Speaking of Middlemarch, it’s one of my moms favorite books and I’ve never been able to get through it!

  5. Kris permalink
    February 28, 2014 2:14 am

    Chances are is when I fell in love with Robert Downey Jr.

Leave a Reply

