Skip to content

Throwing It Back #7

March 6, 2014

067_67

1. This is me. On a four wheeler for the first and last time. I didn’t actually drive it, I rode on the back, terrified, through the woods. I was 24.

2. I’d spent the night at a friend’s parents’ house outside of Griffin, GA. After riding out to the creek we spent hours slogging through the knee deep water keeping eyes out for snakes and running face first into spider webs. We created a story that I’ve now forgotten, but I do remember that in that morning/afternoon I had the fantasy childhood I’d only ever imagined. But, you know, as an adult.

3. We had two dogs with us, one a puppy. They completed the picture.

4. I dream of living in a place with trees that green. We don’t have that in Southern California.

5. A tornado swept through a handful of years later and wiped out everything. It’s now an empty field, I imagine though that the creek is still there.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karin permalink
    March 10, 2014 11:04 am

    What a great photo of you, Clementine! Having grown up in Atlanta during the 70s and 80s, I spent what seemed like most of my childhood running barefoot through woods that looked EXACTLY like this. We built forts in the woods, and played all day in the creeks and streams that crisscrossed through the woods. All I have to do is think of these memories and I can still feel the hot humid summer air and the smell of the damp woods and the cool mud beneath my feet. And you’re right ….. you don’t have trees that green anywhere in California. We still have a lot of trees here …… but I don’t know if kids still run barefoot through them!

    • Clementine permalink*
      March 10, 2014 11:16 am

      Let’s hope they do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

