Skip to content

Early Morning Favorites from This Week’s NY Times

March 14, 2014

I don’t read books on my phone, I like real paper. I make an exception with the newspaper. When I signed up for the NY Times delivery it came with a digital subscription. One morning when I couldn’t sleep I downloaded the app, expecting that it might be a one or two time thing, but, being that I’m not what you’d call a “good sleeper”,  it became an almost daily thing. Typically I would wake up sometime between 3 and 6. If it was closer to 3, I would read until I could fall back to sleep, if 6, until I felt like getting up. Unfortunately, the paper was never delivered before 9, at which point I had read everything I intended to and scrolled through the whole thing. I cancelled my delivery, but kept my online subscription. I felt guilty, but I felt more guilty wasting all that paper. I guess that makes me an official electronic reader. *

My favorite part about this whole tech reading business is the save button. No more clipping and filing or saving to show someone- just touch an icon. My gluttony knows no bounds!

And this morning, I’d like to share some of it with you:

To Keep Teenagers Alert, Schools Let Them Sleep In– Where the hell was this chick when I was in school? (Right, not born yet.) It’s funny to me how the arguments against involve making it easier on parents with younger children. How do you argue against science and biology? I understand that we live in a society that attaches bragging rights to lack of sleep, but come on. 

JP-SLEEP-tmagArticle

Cleaning Tips Mama Never Told You: ‘My Boyfriend Barfed in My Handbag’ Offers Aid on Filth– The title alone made me laugh. I kind of want to get this book for every person I know who’s living on their own for the first time.

The Cookie Dough Oreo– First, ew. Then there’s this:

A spokeswoman for Mondelez, the Kraft spinoff that makes Oreos, said the “y” was added because the soft, dark bits in these cookies did not meet the F.D.A. definition of chocolate.

Ahahahaahahaha! I mean… amazing.

wit-cookie-oreos-videoSixteenByNine1050

When May Catches Up to December– I just… the photo… I can’t. I love love.

09VOWS1-master675

There are others, but these are my favorites from this morning. (This morning to me, even though they are from the week.)

all photos are from the NY Times

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

