Skip to content

It Really Is The Little Things

May 16, 2014

soup

 

Having a baby has taught me to ask for and accept help. It’s shown me that the simplest things- like showing up and holding Eli when he won’t be put down so that I can take a shower- can have a huge impact.

 

Last night Cyrus came home from work and I handed him the baby and a bottle so I could make soup. Yep, it was 1,000,000 degrees out and I made soup. Whatever, don’t judge. I love soup, both the making and eating of it, but I hadn’t made it since the early days of my pregnancy. Usually I make it with loads of garlic and miso and onion, but last night I kept it simple. Only one clove of garlic, one leek and no miso, no onion. I also usually cook it to death, but, because of the heat maybe, I didn’t. I didn’t think it through beyond any of that- I never do. I just chop and toss whatever is in the fridge into a pot. No matter what, it always turns out perfectly, exactly what I need.

Last night I think I needed to feel like another version of me. The one who could be in the kitchen and and let everything else go. The one who could take the time to chop, sauté, and simmer. I even loaded the dishwasher as I went. It’s selfish, but it felt good to take care if myself in that way.

I hope that I can keep this appreciation and gratitude for simplicity, especially in life’s more complicated moments.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 17, 2014 4:05 am

    I make soup in summer all the time because I love soup. It’s important to take care of yourself. Eli needs you to take care of yourself.

Leave a Reply

