Skip to content

I love someone I’ve never met

June 21, 2014

I hope y’all aren’t getting sick of the baby-centric posts. It’s hard because it’s my whole life right now. If you are sick of them, you’re in luck because this isn’t about that.

As the title says, I love someone I’ve never met. Not in a faraway, celebrity way, but in an intimate, telephone way.

I met my friend Deb on a conference call. A mutual friend was too distraught to talk so she enlisted Deb to fill me in. We stayed on the phone long after our third hung up and way past our mutual’s problem resolved. We would talk for hours and supported each other through break ups, medical scares, and quitting smoking, just like the nearby friend who comes over with snacks, except nobody ever came over. I honestly don’t know what I’d have done without her.

I think about that now, in this internet heavy time and wonder if that could happen for us today. I know people have whole romantic relationships online, but I mean “us” specifically. See, the internet kind of scares me and I can’t imagine inviting someone into my life so deeply that way. (That said, I’m now real life friends with an author I wrote a fan tweet to. She’s braver than I am, obviously. And there are definitely certain people I’ve interacted with on the inter webs long enough that I forget I don’t actually know them. Hopefully you know who you are.)

I’m not sure where I’m going with this, it’s just been on my mind. Do you have those friends you’ve never met face to face, but somewhere along the way they became family? And does telephone or web make a difference to you?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Popcornsmum permalink
    June 21, 2014 12:13 pm

    I connected with someone who lived 400miles away from me on Twitter and we had many months of 7 hour phone conversations with her supporting me through a difficult period of my life. I finally invited myself up to meet her and we realised we were soul mates. We’ve been married for 7 months now!!! :o)

  2. Karin permalink
    June 21, 2014 7:58 pm

    Deb is a good friend any way you slice her, even if you’ve never met! I went through a period about 10 years ago where I used the internet to meet people in an effort to expand my friend base. I have to say I met a few kooks and I think there are a few different reasons for that. I’ve never made a new friend via phone call like Deb and you. I don’t think your friendship would have developed the same way had you met via Internet. There’s a whole other level of intimacy involved in hearing someone’s voice and tone.

  3. Deb permalink
    June 22, 2014 5:10 am

    I love both of you beautiful, wonderful ladies so much! I am flattered to be a topic of conversation! Clem, our friendship is for sure different than the average, but you will always be one of my best friends. And I’m so very thankful for that.

  4. June 23, 2014 6:40 am

    I have “met” many people online, and some have become close friends, a couple became lovers. The web context is important. As a writer, words are significant vessels of communication. But in each case, the relationship deepened after talking on the phone, Skyping/Facetiming and, ultimately, meeting in person. What’s find most interesting is the way many of us will share honest and intimate details with someone we may never meet — at times more easily than with those we’ve known best and longest. There are new and old ways of communicating, but human interaction comes in many forms.

Leave a Reply

