Skip to content

I Need More Jenny Mollen On My Bookshelf

June 24, 2014

I read Jenny Mollen’s book, I Like You Just the Way I Am this past weekend. It’s the first book I’ve read all the way through since Eli’s birth and it couldn’t have been more perfect. It’s a fun, easy read, though there were times I wished I couldn’t relate quite so much. She had the chutzpah to write what the rest of us would prefer not to admit to in a group setting, much less to a whole bunch of readers. Homegirl is a badass, go get it.

In related news- I need a new book. I’ve been picking up and putting down a few for a while now  and I’m having trouble picking one to commit to, so I’m going to let you guys decide…

1. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson- The subtitle is what got me- “A mostly true memoir”. I want to be lied to in a way I guess. I go in with the knowledge that memory is cloudy and truth us subjective, I’d rather not be told on the cover.

2. The Flame Throwers by Rachel Kushner- I keep starting this one and then putting it down and forgetting about it until I trip over or sit on it. Not sure why.

3. How To Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran- again, no real reason, it’s funny and I enjoy it when I pick it up but then just put it down and forget about it.

Thoughts?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

