Skip to content

Self Discovery?

July 15, 2014

Did you notice that I haven’t posted for five days?

(pausing for you to go back and check.)

In the interest of self discovery and understanding I want to look at this pattern of mine. Outwardly I’m not a person who will do as I’m told, but inside I am a big ball of, “whatever you want, whatever you think, sure I’ll do it. Rules? Yep, Love ’em.” In some ways I think my inner mouse is more dangerous than if I were obviously meek, because it’s all the quiet little things that add up to The Big Thing not done.

Someone I respect very much suggested last week that a better goal than trying to post every day for thirty days would be to post only a few times a week, thereby having more time to dedicate to each post and producing better content.

I disagreed, but she’s the expert so I questioned myself and why I was doing what I was doing. Trusting myself and my instincts is not one of my strengths. Neither is decision making. I never decided not to post, I just… didn’t. Never mind that the point was to have a simple goal that I could complete and say, “look, I did that. I followed through”. Rather than think for myself, I let the air slowly out of my balloon.

She’s probably right, but sometimes we have to make not so smart decisions that make us happy, right?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    August 29, 2014 12:19 pm

    So, I know that you’re a writer and I’m trying to write something myself and I have all these great ideas and wonderful concepts but when I sit down to write, nothing. Any advice? I don’t even know where to begin it feels so daunting. Is this just a part of it?

Leave a Reply

