Skip to content

Going Soft

February 11, 2015

I don’t do valentines day. It seems to be a day designed to stress people out, make some feel bad, and bring in buckets of money for Hallmark. Yep, there it is- I wasn’t going to say it’s a Hallmark holiday, but there was no way around it. I found out a couple years ago that my sister thought I was a curmudgeon about it because I was single and bitter, so she was really surprised to find that once I was partnered up and happy, I still hated it.
I’m rethinking my stance.
I know.
Sit down.
I don’t want my child to be the asshole who doesn’t bring valentines to school. Preemptive peer pressure at its finest. So I’m thinking I should start now. Yes, I could just keep ignoring the day because it’s dumb, or I could find positives. I could make it about Love. I don’t have to spend money or get crazy, but I can choose to focus my attention and intentions on loving kindness. Something we should all do everyday, but, let’s face it, doesn’t always happen. I may even be looking forward to it. Who am I?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 11, 2015 6:20 pm

    You are an evolving human being. You are allowed to change your stance! (My mom always made Valentine’s Day cookies or cupcakes or a heart-shaped cake for us when we were kids. She made it about love of family, so I never felt it was a “couples-only” kind of holiday. Smart momma.)

Leave a Reply

