Skip to content

Memory

August 9, 2015

I have a memory.

I am five, maybe four, in the back of a limousine. I am alone, but how can I be? That makes no sense. A nanny must be with me. Or Sandy, the motor home driver. I’m crying because I don’t want to go home without my mom. I look out the window and up to the street lights that are yellow and blurred by my tears. I’m trying to catch my breath between sobs.

Another memory, another time, another limo. I’m with my mom and her boyfriend this time. I’ve fallen asleep on her lap. I wake up panicked that I was snoring. They assure me I wasn’t.  I don’t believe them so I keep myself awake for the rest of the ride.

Finally. Final memory. I am older. At least a couple of years. Maybe I’m seven? I look out the back window as my nanny and I drive away from the house. My mom is standing outside waving, watching us go. It’s so early that the sun has just come out. I’m sad, but a confused sad, because we are going home, to Memphis. I hate early flights.

I still hate limos.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Reggie Hannah permalink
    November 9, 2015 3:29 pm

    Hi Ms Clementine
    I am the person that was sitting next to your
    wonderful mom on the flight back from Memphis to LA. I don’t want you to think that I’m stalking or anything along those lines. Your mom is a very beautiful person and it was my good fortune to be sitting next to her
    on the ride back to LA. I regret not telling her
    how much I enjoyed her company but I did leave my contact information with her account
    rep Christine S. But I don’t know if she did pass it along to your mom or not.

    I also want to say to you that you have such an adorable little guy and could tell that you are a very good mom yourself. You know they say “the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.” I also would like to know how your mom’s test (November 1st) went, please let know. Make sure you let her know that I prayed for her to have great results from the test!!

    I know you have hundreds of things to do but
    please tell your mom that being in her company on the 26th of Oct 2015 made Xmas
    come early for me!!

    Thanks Clementine

    • Clementine permalink*
      November 30, 2015 9:30 pm

      That is so sweet! I will pass it along! And thank you.

Leave a Reply

