Skip to content

Maybe prayer’s not nothing after all 

November 14, 2015

I have no words to add to the discussion on the recent attacks in France. Like everyone, I am angry but anger isn’t enough. Neither are prayers thoughts and virtual hugs. I found myself this morning rolling my eyes and saying, fuck your prayers, do something. And then craving yoga. Yoga.

Because yoga is totally taking action. 

Exactly. 

But then (so many “but thens”, so little time) I got it. Meditation, yoga, movement, breath. Those are MY prayers. And they help me to quiet the anger and judgement and desire to punch someone right in their fucking zealot face, so that I can see the way to action. To calmness. I have to connect to that before anything else. And from there growth and movement happen. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2015 12:57 pm

    What a great piece. I love that you came to this conclusion after yoga. I’ve also seen those “we don’t want your prayers” pieces, and it makes my heart ache. I’m not a big “I’ll pray for you” person, because so often the prayers seem directed to a deity that…isn’t mine, for lack of a better explanation. But people deal with strife in different ways, and if praying helps somebody to center herself, to calm herself, to gather the strength to go on, then who are we to say it’s not okay to pray? Sure beats being violent.

  2. Madeline permalink
    November 24, 2015 1:58 pm

    C’est dur de voir tout ça

Leave a Reply

